Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Shabatowski
Canada
Stittsville
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Being an avid hobbyist, my gaming group anticipates that I will be the guy to introduce a new game almost one per week. Our little club has a membership of 20 and we can expect around 9 or 10 to meet regularly once per week. My challenge has been to teach the rules of a new game to veteran gamers with more than 20 years experience each. I look for posts to see if I can find teaching aids. Practice will help me improve.

I picked up Carolus Magnus 3 months ago but never had the opportunity to introduce it to our group. Opportunity presented itself when my buddy invited some mutual gateway friends for a barbeque. The ladies excused themselves for an extensive discussion of our shortcomings while Bert, Bruce and I sat down for a first go-round.

I was intrigued by the initial tile placement as we set the game up. Circular random placement that we could see would facilitate merging.Each of us had well machined pawns that are used to mark stake in a territory once captured. A large yellow token represents Charlemagne as he travels each territory. Random coloured cubes representing paladins are placed on each territory.5 discs representing both turn order and Charlemagne movement are provided. The remaining cubes are dumped in the centre of the table and play begins.

Each of us selected a disc and placed it in the centre of the table. Bert, being the lowest number went first.On Berts turn, he placed three paladins from his starting supply either into his court to gain conrol of a colour or onto a territory to help establish control. He recognized the risky strategy of placing on a territory at the outset so opted to lay out yellow and green to establish control.As his second required action he moved Charlegmagne to a territory and placed one of his control markers.Lastly, Bert rolled three dice and picked up three paladin cubes from the supply.