$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Wacky Wacky West» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions about voting cards. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Lott
United States
Mason
Michigan
flag msg tools
It's a gift...
badge
...and a curse.
mbmbmbmbmb
#1. What's the purpose of the Question Mark votes since they have no effect on the outcome of the vote? Are they just there because every player is required to play a vote card, and some people may not care enough to use up their +/- votes? Or is there some sort of bluffing involved in the voting?

#2. Also, is there some order to the way people play their vote cards, or is everyone just throwing them down all at once?

#3. Finally, is the number of vote cards that a player chooses to play open information, or do players just stack them so no one can tell how many cards you put towards the vote?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Barone
Italy
Roma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
#1. Every player must vote. I'm not sure about it, but it should be possible to use more than one card during the voting. Bluffing is involved in the voting: you could prefer not to show a preference on the vote, to not reveal your building type. In addition, question mark votes are kept in hand, while the normal votes are lost. You'd rather use them for very important decisions.

#2. The vote cards are revealed all at once. For the Jeeiin votes, after the votes have been displayed, the owner must choose its value (2 Yes, or 2 No)

#3. I'm not sure about it, but since the vote is hidden until the contemporary display, the number of cards should be hidden the same
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom P
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Do not shed tears over throws of the past, roll again!
badge
Click here for free games.
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I'm aware you only use one card per vote, and discard cards after voting except for ? cards.

So, you know exactly what the other players used, and what therefore they have left. Which means you might play your ? card when you think the other payers are going to play a proper vote (e.g. when you don't care about the outcome) and lose it, so you will have one more up your sleeve for when it really matters to you.

And it can have an effect on voting - in a tie the decision rests with the person who tried to place the tile. In effect, you can make the tile placed without losing a vote that you need later...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.