$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

War of 1812» Forums » Rules

Subject: stupid question... can warships be built in enemy occupied naval bases? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
as title says...can warships be built in enemy occupied naval bases?
It may sound stupid doing so but I was wondering if rules permit that? I would think no they couldnt...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mb
BY the "enemy", then YES! You'd have to physically "friendly-occupy" THEIRS otherwise. just sayin'! whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Megee
United States
Edgewater Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Copied from the rule book:

5.1 Naval Building
Build one step on a new or existing
warship, OR makes one naval move.
Building may only take place in one of
a player’s three naval bases, never in an
enemy naval base even if occupied by
friendly army blocks.


I put the text in BOLD.

Hope this helps!

Jim
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll reword my question:
Can american ship be built in an american naval base if the same naval base is occupied by an english unit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
JimM wrote:
Copied from the rule book:

5.1 Naval Building
Build one step on a new or existing
warship, OR makes one naval move.
Building may only take place in one of
a player’s three naval bases, never in an
enemy naval base even if occupied by
friendly army blocks.


I put the text in BOLD.

Hope this helps!

Jim


I knew that, but please refer to the other situation I asked for...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Wong
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's an interesting question for which I can't give you a definitive answer. You are correct in that the rules do not directly address this. If building the naval unit is allowed, I would think you'd then have to roll for Warship Capture as described in 7.12. This means there's a 50/50 chance you're building the unit for the enemy (unless the enemy has all his naval units on the board).

Thematically, I can't see this happening. You'd be building ships and recruiting crew members right under the noses of the enemy units. They might be a tad suspicious.

Why don't you e-mail your question to Grant at grant@columbiagames.com and report back with the result?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say absolutely not. It makes no sense from the standpoint of realism.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
No Cat - No Cradle
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
saxophone wrote:
Thematically, I can't see this happening.


Which is probably why it is not explicitly stated. Just like throwing jello at your opponent is not explicitly stated. I suppose you could, but thematically it is out there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.