$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Powerboats» Forums » Rules

Subject: Boats and movement (Blocking with boats?) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Rourke
United Kingdom
Chesterfield
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If i have a situation where I roll a 4 and have 4 spaces of open sea to the front of me and 3 spaces of open sea to the left with a boat in the 4th space and an Island to my right, can I chose to move behind the boat rather than sailing into the 4 spaces ahead of me

Hope this question makes sense
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike G.
United States
Newbury
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can move behind the boat. (That's the quick answer while I go check the rules for actual wording.)

Okay, looked at the rules. They state:

Quote:
If you will crash on land or a buoy in all 3 directions, then you must take the direction with the longest straight path through
water before crashing.


Since you can go behind the boat and not crash, you are allowed to do that.
There is also a diagram at the top of page 3 of the rules that clearly shows this.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Prizzi
United States
West Newton
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Quote:
If you will crash on land or a
buoy in all 3 directions, then you must take the
direction with the longest straight path through
water before crashing. If that is equal in 2 or 3
directions, then you choose one of these directions.


That's what the rules say. They only restrict movement options if one or more of them would result in a CRASH. Having to back up a space because there's a boat in your end space isn't a crash. So I'd say you'd be fine going STARBOARD (gotta use the lingo for a boat game) moving your 4 spaces, and then backing up a space because of the other boat.

I'm curious how they have it programmed on Mastermoves, but under a strict reading of the rules I think my take is correct.

Another interesting possiblitity is that you roll a 4 and have:
-4 spaces each occupied by other boats fore.
-an island immediately starboard
-an island immediately to port.

You'd stay in the same hex, take no damage, and move on to the next player
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Tompkins
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
Never go in against a Sicilian when DEATH is on the line!
badge
You know what would be funny...
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:

I'm curious how they have it programmed on Mastermoves, but under a strict reading of the rules I think my take is correct.


That's the correct interpretation of the rules, and is how it is programmed at Mastermoves.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Rourke
United Kingdom
Chesterfield
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks Guys

we had been playing it that way, but I wondered If it was right

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.