Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
612 Posts
[1]  Prev «  1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [25] | 

Powerboats» Forums » Play By Forum

Subject: Powerboats - Play by Forum - Game I rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Keeping the 3 and adding 3 = 3 = 3

Continue straight on
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 25558. ad79
  • 3 =
  • 3 =
  • 3
  • Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:14 pm
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb


[edited]
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just learning the rules, so I'm a little confused how turn 1 went.

Rob, you rolled one on your first turn, so you took 1 damage because you couldn't move (I believe you started on E). Is that shown anywhere on the board? Why do you still have your 1 to start turn 2? Aren't you supposed to lose all dice in a crash? (not that it mattered since you only rolled 1 die on turn 2 anyway, but I'm trying to understand what I'm missing)

How did yellow end up going to the NW? Sean started at 4, facing the pylon, due E. He rolled 3, so he's forced to turn left to NE, move 2 spots, hit the size 3 island, and take 1 damage, is he not? And he loses his 3?

For my turn, I'll keep my 1, and roll: 1d3 = (2) = 2

I'll turn right, and head 3 east.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
I'm just learning the rules, so I'm a little confused how turn 1 went.

Rob, you rolled one on your first turn, so you took 1 damage because you couldn't move (I believe you started on E). Is that shown anywhere on the board? Why do you still have your 1 to start turn 2? Aren't you supposed to lose all dice in a crash? (not that it mattered since you only rolled 1 die on turn 2 anyway, but I'm trying to understand what I'm missing)


You only crash if you hit land, other boats do not count. If you land exactly on another boat space you remain in the hex behind, or in the event of a row of boats you keep moving back until you reach a free space.


Quote:
How did yellow end up going to the NW? Sean started at 4, facing the pylon, due E. He rolled 3, so he's forced to turn left to NE, move 2 spots, hit the size 3 island, and take 1 damage, is he not? And he loses his 3?



Ah I see, no-one called me on the positioning of Yellow, I thought it a tad strange to place facing the starting Buoy directly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, got it, thanks. The damage section says damage comes from hitting "land or buoy", I kept reading that as land or boat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb


Red - Todd UP
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Fowler
United States
Westerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Keep my 3 straight ahead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Tompkins
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
Never go in against a Sicilian when DEATH is on the line!
badge
You know what would be funny...
mbmbmbmb
d3 = (3) = 3

with a turn to the right...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 25575. seanp
  • d3 =
  • (3) =
  • 3
  • Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:51 pm
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
I maintain speed, blocked by Black



Blue Up
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Keeping my 2 dice and adding one more. 3 = 3 = 3
Turning right and crashing with 2 damage. Lose all 3 dice for next move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 25665. ad79
  • 3 =
  • 3 =
  • 3
  • Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:36 pm
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll add a die, re-roll the 1, keep the 2.
Roll: 2d3 = (2 + 3) = 5

Crap. Should have kept the 1. soblue

Turn left, straight 7.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Fowler
United States
Westerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Keep my 3 and add a die 1d3 = (1) = 1. Turn right and move 4.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 25685. toddwf
  • 1d3 =
  • (1) =
  • 1
  • Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:44 pm
Sean Tompkins
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
Never go in against a Sicilian when DEATH is on the line!
badge
You know what would be funny...
mbmbmbmb
add a die, and roll all:

1d3 = (3) = 3 and 1d3 = (2) = 2

turn left, move 5
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 25723. seanp
  • 1d3 =
  • (3) =
  • 3
  • Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:57 pm
  • [+]
  • 25724. seanp
  • 1d3 =
  • (2) =
  • 2
  • Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:57 pm
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
Maintaining my speed 2



Blue - UP

Note:

I've placed the arrows of Buoy 3 to the right hand side, as we need to navigate around it. The other images give the impression of ignoring it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
3 = 3 = 3
Turning right
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 25769. ad79
  • 3 =
  • 3 =
  • 3
  • Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:29 am
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi folks. I think I might have done something wrong.

When I have added die rolls I have just written 3 (not d3) into the ROLL line when chosing my dice and after getting 3 every time I started to suspect something was wrong.
But when I press Validate it shows it as a valid roll, but I don't know if I have done something wrong here.

Do I need to write d3 when adding dice?

If I hae done somethign wrong I will let you guys decide if I should be disqualified or have to restart from the starting line on my next turn.

Stig Morten
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
Dice Test

3 = 3 = 3

4 = 4 = 4

5 = 5 = 5

6 = 6 = 6

7 = 7 = 7

Looks like there is an issue with this method.

I'm happy for you to either:

A. Miss a turn
B. Roll a D2, and also take another damage no matter what.
C. Roll 3 Dice for the long straight (before the crash), then take your new turn as normal.

Anyone else have any other ideas?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 25775. zombiegod
  • 3 =
  • 3 =
  • 3
  • Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:36 am
  • [+]
  • 25777. zombiegod
  • 4 =
  • 4 =
  • 4
  • Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:36 am
  • [+]
  • 25779. zombiegod
  • 5 =
  • 5 =
  • 5
  • Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:36 am
  • [+]
  • 25781. zombiegod
  • 6 =
  • 6 =
  • 6
  • Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:37 am
  • [+]
  • 25783. zombiegod
  • 7 =
  • 7 =
  • 7
  • Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:37 am
Todd Fowler
United States
Westerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmm, that's a pretty crappy bug in the die roll code. I would expect the validation to at least check to make sure there is one "d" in there.shake

Anyway, my opinion is no biggie. I certainly don't want Stig disqualified. The more boats the better. So, whatever keeps the game moving.

Todd
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
toddwf wrote:
Hmmm, that's a pretty crappy bug in the die roll code. I would expect the validation to at least check to make sure there is one "d" in there.shake


It's not a bug, because many dice don't use the d. He just made a custom die that always rolls a 3. Some of the options get pretty wild: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Geek_Randomizer_Guide

Personally, I like the option C above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Should I go for option C: Roll 3 dice for the straight and take my turn as normal?

That way we can get the game back on track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
ad79 wrote:
Should I go for option C: Roll 3 dice for the straight and take my turn as normal?

That way we can get the game back on track.


We await your choice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
3d3 = (2 + 2 + 1) = 5 along the straight as earlier

These don't show the individual dice so the least favourable option for me is if the roll is 1,2,2.

So I'll go with that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 26056. ad79
  • 3d3 =
  • (2 + 2 + 1) =
  • 5
  • Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:28 pm
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For my current turn I'll keep a 1 and a 2 die and re-roll the second 2 die.

1d3 = (1) = 1

I'll turn right now.Down towards bouy 1.

And I'll keep the 2 damage tokens as a penalty.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 26057. ad79
  • 1d3 =
  • (1) =
  • 1
  • Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:40 pm
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ad79 wrote:
ad79 previously rolled 3d3 = (2 + 2 + 1) = 5 along the straight as earlier

These don't show the individual dice so the least favourable option for me is if the roll is 1,2,2.


You click on the result to see the individual ones. It is 1-2-2.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
good to know. I learn something new every day. Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
[1]  Prev «  1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [25] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.