Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David
Switzerland
Buchs
St. Gallen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok this is my first attempt at a review here on BGG and I thought I'd start with one of my all time favorites. I'm not a native English speaker so if you find some mistakes you can keep them...

Heritage / Introduction
Dog is very obviously a descendant from the ancient family of cross and circle games. I think most western households will be familiar with at least on variant of these games. For anyone else here's the run down: You have four tokens that you move along a track around the board and try to be the first to get all of them into the central area of the board. If you're like me you've played such games since a young age and at some point you've realized that hoping for a good roll and (perhaps) choosing which token to move is not a particularly exciting concept anymore.

Components
Generally speaking you've got a board, four tokens per player and two standard French/Anglo-American deck of cards. Since there are numerous editions of this game the actual design and production value can differ greatly: From flimsy paper and cheap plastic to solid wood and other nicely crafted materials.

The three most common archetypes are:
* Meeple based boards.
* Holes and Pips based boards.
* Marbles and Indents based boards.

My favorite edition I played so far is the "Brändi Dog" shown in the third link. The marbles approach is very convenient to use and the layout is very clear too. The marbles stay in place well enough as long as you don't have a tap-dance competition on the same table. Pips are even better in that regard but are less elegant to move.

Gameplay
The two most important changes to more traditional variants are the use of cards instead of dice and the fact that this is a team game. But first things first...