$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Xxcha Kingdom and Diplomacy II rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
PMD
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Recently we've argued about Xxcha resolving Secondary Ability of Diplomacy II. Do they have to pay the CC for using it?

The Xxcha Kingdom Special Ability no. 1:
Quote:
When executing the Secondary Ability of the Diplomacy Strategy, you may execute the primary ability instead.


Diplomacy II Primary Ability:
Quote:
Chose either a) or b)
a) ...
b) Execute the secondary ability of this card without paying a Command Counter or any influence


It is a question of timing and what does "execute" mean. Does "executing" begin the moment you decide to use Secondary Ability or the moment you pay a CC for using it?

With the first, they may use this ability without paying no CC nor influence, but if the latter is correct they should pay a CC from Strategy Allocation and still no influence.

We've decided for the first, basing on Jol-Nar using Secondary Ability of Technology II. By reading their ability to use Primary Ability in addition to Secondary Ability of Technology II I thought they should buy technology in following order:

1. Pay 6$ for 1st technology from Secondary Ability
2. Take free 2nd technology from Primary Ability
3. (if willing) pay 8$ for 3rd technology from Primary Ability

Instead FAQ shows the other order: free, 6$, 8$.

So, we play that Xxcha doesn't have to pay anything if they are willing to use Diplomacy II Primary Ability b) option instead of "normal" Secondary Ability. But is it correct? What do you think?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Porter
United States
Bangor
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the Shattered Empires rules, page 14:
Quote:
The Xxcha and Diplomacy II: When the Xxcha player
uses his special ability to execute the primary ability
of the Diplomacy II card, he must spend a Command
Counter from his Strategy Allocation area. (If he
chooses option “b” of the primary ability, the only net
benefit is that he does not need to pay influence.)


So the player would have to spend a Command Counter in order to execute either ability. Essentially, the Xxcha is paying the CC as if he is executing the secondary ability of Diplomacy II, but he has the option of playing either the primary or the secondary.

Hope this helps!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PMD
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't really thought of looking for it in the rules...

Thank's a lot!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ter Ter
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
By the way. When Jol-Nar uses his ability to use Tech primary. Jol-Nar can only use primary so free tech without using secondary.

The Jol-Nar and the Technology II Strategy Card:
The Jol-Nar player may use his special ability when
executing the secondary Technology II ability in order
to receive one free technology. He may then purchase
a second technology at the cost of 6 resources, and a
third technology at the cost of 8 resources.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.