Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Colosseum» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Star Performers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Hibbard

Middletown
Ohio
msg tools
Just played this game for the first time last night (enjoyable game). We had 3 players and this situation came up.

Player A and player B each had 3 of a certain type of asset token (Player A had the top performer for this token as he was the first to get 3). Player C had 2 of this same type of token. Player C received one of this type of token from player A via a trade, so Players B and C each have 3 of this type of token now and Player A is left with 2.

My question is who would get the top performer for this token now? Would Player B get it since he had 3 before player C had 3? Or would it go back up for grabs again since the two players were tied? The way we played it it went back up for grabs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Lott
United States
Mason
Michigan
flag msg tools
Being a Lions fan is a gift...
badge
...and a curse.
mbmbmbmbmb
hibbarda wrote:
Just played this game for the first time last night (enjoyable game). We had 3 players and this situation came up.

Player A and player B each had 3 of a certain type of asset token (Player A had the top performer for this token as he was the first to get 3). Player C had 2 of this same type of token. Player C received one of this type of token from player A via a trade, so Players B and C each have 3 of this type of token now and Player A is left with 2.

My question is who would get the top performer for this token now? Would Player B get it since he had 3 before player C had 3? Or would it go back up for grabs again since the two players were tied? The way we played it it went back up for grabs.

I believe the first player to get the star performer keeps it until someone is able to take it. The only time it leaves a player and just goes back up for grabs is if player B had lost an asset token of that type (dropping below 3) and no one else had 3 of that type.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Lott
United States
Cheverly
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ben's correct - the rules on page 10 outline that situation.

The issue of a tie comes into play in only two cases:

1. If two players get 3+ tokens of one type and are tied for that amount at the same time, which would only result from a trade between them. In that case, the award remains up for grabs.

2. If the player holding the award drops below 3 tokens, and more than one player has the same amount of tokens (3+). The award then goes up for grabs.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sheldon Morris
Canada
Elora
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A player with the Star Performer can only lose it under two different conditions. Either someone else collects more assets of that type than the person who currently has the Star performer, or, the person who holds the Star Performer goes below three assets of that type and no one else has three or more of that type.

In other words, there are two criteria to take possession of the Star Performer. One is that you must have at least three of the assets. The other is that you must get more assets than anyone else.

In your specific example, neither Player B or Player C can take possession of the Star Performer because neither gained more assets than the other. Therefore the Star Performer is given to anyone at this point.

An example of this in the rules is the case of two (or more) people starting the game with three or more assets equally (tied). In this case nobody gets the Star Performer because nobody had more than another.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.