$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Powerboats» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crossing the Finish Line rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
Can boats finish the race by crossing the finish line from either side, or are they forced to finish by crossing the line from one pre-set direction?


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the boardgame version the starting line and finish line have pre-set directions.

On Mastermoves.eu they don't.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
So would a a boat that finishes by performing this manoeuvre be acceptable:



Seeing as a boat can finish a race On the flags would it make any difference?

Or would the player be forced to traverse back around the buoys and move between them from the correct side??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
zombiegod wrote:
So would a a boat that finishes by performing this manoeuvre be acceptable:



Seeing as a boat can finish a race On the flags would it make any difference?

Or would the player be forced to traverse back around the buoys and move between them from the correct side??


The move you show in your graphics would be illegal. He would need to go back around and then pass the finishline.

This also holds true for any bouys during the race.

You can explain this (the hard way) by giving the passing of the bouys or finishline points.
Passing it the correct way gies you 1 point and passing it the wrong way gives you -1 point.
To make a legal passing you need to get to 1 point.

In your graphics the boat passes in the wrong direction first, so he is at -1 point. When he turns back to cross the finishline he gets 1point, but that only cansels out his minuspoint, so he needs to go cross the finishline once more in the correct direction to get to 1 point.

Did that make it clear?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems that the easiest method is to rule it is using the string method, you pull it taut if it doesn't go through the finish point from A-B it isn't classed as finishing.

My image would only wrap around the back of the buoy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.