Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Garrett the Hammer
United States
Rutland
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Note: There are few changes from my initial post (nothing major). I'm still a newbie to all this tournament organizing.

Hello all,

I want to announce the "2011 Mix and Match Abstract Tournament". This is an online turn-based tournament to be held at Richard's PBEM server (www.gamerz.net/pbmserv/). This is an experiment of sorts, but I think it should be fun and present the opportunity to play many different abstract games.

1. Send me a message with your gamerz.net username by September 30, 2011 (about 2 weeks) to join the tournament. It will start early October.

2. The tournament will consist of two rounds. Rounds will last 90 days maximum, or 45 days per player. Every player should get a maximum of 45 days per move and 45 total days per game. Round 2 will start after Round 1 is finished.

3. Each round players will play all other participants in the tournament in a chosen game (discussed below). That is, the number of games each player plays simultaneously in each round is N-1, where N is the number of tournament participants. In the event of a large number of participants, sections may be used to limit the number of games played (e.g. half players may be in section 1, while the other half may be in section 2).

4. Each round every player will pick a row and a column (privately sent via message). The game to be played between two players will be determined by matching the row/column between the players. Which player is a row and which player is a column will be determined randomly. For example, player one chooses the D/4 combination, and player two chooses the E/1 combination. By random selection, player one is determined to be the row. The game between the two players is D1, or Halves.