Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gloria Picktoria» Forums » General

Subject: Move The Fox rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Port Macquarie
NSW
flag msg tools
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
mbmbmbmbmb
In Gloria Picktoria the rules say on page 3, "However, after his turn, he may pass the fox to his left neighbour...he executes his three actions, completeing his turn. After that, he places the fox on any collection of his left neighbour."

My question is, why would you ever move the fox as one of your three actions if you are able to move it at the end of your turn as a free action?



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Scott
United Kingdom
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The only time that you would move the fox would be when you're one card away from a scoring round and you want to draw a new card. As the fox is currently cancelling one of your collections, you would be wise to move it to your neighbour first, then draw the card.

We played a game of this yesterday and one player managed to successfully "bomb" his neighbour in this way.

(Shouldn't this be in the rules section BTW)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Shepherd
United Kingdom
Corbridge
Northumberland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another strategy - (if you're particularly risk-averse and a scoring phase is imminent) - is to spend a single action to move the fox onto a zero-point collection that you're currently the owner of. This effectively puts the fox out of circulation for a while (since only the current holder of the fox can move the fox), and prevents the fox from going all the way around the table and landing back on your top scoring collection.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.