$10.00
Recommend
9 
 Thumb up
 Hide
170 Posts
[1]  Prev «  3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7  Next »  [7] | 

Battlestar Galactica: Exodus Expansion» Forums » Play By Forum

Subject: BSG: EXPRESS 1 - Roll the Dice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tables
United Kingdom
Coventry
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


vote wrote:
Throwing that FRAKKING Cylon Starbuck in the FRAKKING brig - Difficulty: 4

Adama - +2
Apollo - -1
Baltar - pass
Starbuck - -1, -1, -2
Roslin - +4

Current Total = 3 Vote is currently failing.


And roll again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Derrick
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb


- Roslin cancel's one -2 with her special ability.
- She submits a +4 and re-rolls.
- She then submits a +2.

vote][b wrote:
Throwing that FRAKKING Cylon Starbuck in the FRAKKING brig - Difficulty: 4

Adama - +2
Apollo - -1
Baltar - pass
Starbuck - -1, -1, -2
Roslin - +4, +2

Current Total = 5 Vote passes. Starbuck is brigged.


Roslin, please choose the crisis.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Derrick
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb


Here is an update on which dice everyone has left. Roslin will choose the crisis

Round 1.5 - Crisis

FTL is at 1
DISTANCE is at 0
NO CONTACTS on the DRADIS
2 DAMAGE to Galactica
NO CHARACTERS are Demoralized
STARBUCK is Brigged


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerry Smit
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Baltar

Can Roslin discard a die in her crisis phase as well, or only once per turn? If she can, Roslin do you want me to roll, or regain a pair ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
GerryRailBaron wrote:

Baltar

Can Roslin discard a die in her crisis phase as well, or only once per turn? If she can, Roslin do you want me to roll, or regain a pair ?


You can only regain one if passing, no?
You regain all if you are FORCED to pass, no?

Or did I miss something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it is only one die. If you have no dice, then you gain two.
I don't think there is any benefit in rolling your last die unless you are hoping to get lucky on a crisis that you probably couldn't pass otherwise. That being said, we probably won't be able to pass Roslin's crisis. But if me and Baltar throw our dice, maybe we'll luck out!
I'll probably throw mine anyway since I am about to get it back.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, what does being in the brig means?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TDaver wrote:
Also, what does being in the brig means?


She cannot retrieve more than one skill die and does not roll a crisis on her turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerry Smit
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MasterDinadan wrote:
I think it is only one die. If you have no dice, then you gain two.
I don't think there is any benefit in rolling your last die unless you are hoping to get lucky on a crisis that you probably couldn't pass otherwise. That being said, we probably won't be able to pass Roslin's crisis. But if me and Baltar throw our dice, maybe we'll luck out!
I'll probably throw mine anyway since I am about to get it back.


Well, again, how lucky do we need to be? If I only get 1 die back, then passing for 1 die, or rolling and next time getting 2 dice back makes up a bit for the loss time. All assuming Roslin can discard one bad die on this crisis as well. That way we can all roll some what. If she can't, or wants to save it to cushion herself and others with multiple dice, then indeed I should pass.

It's all playing the odds, and or taking risks when there's nothing else to lose. Very much like the series.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Derrick
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
MasterDinadan has it right.

As to being in the brig, it means a few things.

- At the beginning of your turn or when passing, you only retrieve 1 skill die, your choice. Even if it's a forced pass, you still only retrieve 1 skill die.

- You do not roll the crisis dice while in the brig.

- You are not allowed to boost morale while in the brig.

- Starbuck cannot use her reckless ability while in the brig.

- If you are a Cylon and you reveal while in the brig, you do not get to execute your special ability on your Cylon card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerry Smit
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
derrickec wrote:



Looking at this, there's very few dice to begin with. Roslin can hope for 1 or 2, 3, 4 or 6 points. The latter is 1/36, 4 points is 1/18 , 3 points is 1/6 , and 1 or 2 is somewhere around 4/9's (off top of head).

Much higher if she can discard a bad die.

Adama should probably help out, as he's picking up dice anyway. He should definintely help if Roslin's ability is available for each skill check her round.

That all said, if the total required is more than 10, we'd all have to roll and make it. Astronomically unlikely. 7-8 points, Roslin, Adama, and her re-use are a maybe. 6 or under they could go for it. So we can look for those kind of break points in the crisis die she chooses. Of course, 1 consequence vs 2 makes a difference as well. The latter has more riding on it, and thus might move us to risk more. Anyway, somewhere north of 7 points I vote "TANK" and we all draw another die for Adama's turn.

All moot until we see the choice of crisis. That said, it's good to start hashing out these kind of probability break points to see what's good bad, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tables
United Kingdom
Coventry
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


It's a tough choice as neither options were nice. As risky as it might be, I think we probably want to tank this. But I'll see what people do before committing to a choice.

BASESTAR - Difficulty: 6 - Consequence: 2 - Jump: Yes
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb


You do realize Tanking this will make us have 4 damages? Everyone will be repairing for turns

We need a character for Tyrol with a special ability: You can repair one automatically, without rolling.

If we're tanking still, I'm okay, but I'm willing to roll my last die if others want to try
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Adama rolls (why not? )
I can give out some dice on my turn if we pass this. If we don't pass, doing repairs is probably more important.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Apollo rolls.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Van Beurden
Belgium
Leuven
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Starbuck rolls.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tables
United Kingdom
Coventry
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


I know we end up with 4 damage. But I think it's just going to be too difficult to pass, and we should be able to do repairs (and trust me, it was better than the alternative). Pass on rolling, I'll save my dice for a more reliable check.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Derrick
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb


crisis wrote:
BASESTAR - Difficulty: 6 - Consequence: 2 - Jump: Yes

Adama - roll
Apollo - roll
Baltar -
Starbuck - roll
Roslin - pass

Current Total = 0 Failing the crisis.


By the way, this one should go pretty quick since all the rolls can be done publicly. You all only have one die to roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerry Smit
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


crisis wrote:
BASESTAR - Difficulty: 6 - Consequence: 2 - Jump: Yes

Adama - roll
Apollo - roll
Baltar - roll Hail Mary time!
Starbuck - roll
Roslin - pass

Current Total = 0 Failing the crisis.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I doing this right?
custom6{-1;-1;-2;-2;2;4} = (2) = 2
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 55492. MasterDinadan
  • custom6{-1;-1;-2;-2;2;4} =
  • (2) =
  • 2
  • Thu Oct 6, 2011 5:28 pm
Evan Derrick
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you did it right!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Derrick
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
crisis wrote:
BASESTAR - Difficulty: 6 - Consequence: 2 - Jump: Yes

Adama - +2
Apollo - roll
Baltar - roll Hail Mary time!
Starbuck - roll
Roslin - pass

Current Total = +2 Failing the crisis.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Derrick
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb


I'm going to go ahead and roll everyone's dice publicly to keep this moving.

crisis wrote:
BASESTAR - Difficulty: 6 - Consequence: 2 - Jump: Yes

Adama - +2
Apollo - +3
Baltar - +4 Hail Mary time!
Starbuck - -1
Roslin - pass

Current Total = +8 Crisis was passed successfully.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 55506. derrickec
  • 1custom6{"-1";"-1";"-2";"-2";1;3} =
  • (3) =
  • 3
  • Apollo
  • Thu Oct 6, 2011 5:47 pm
  • [+]
  • 55507. derrickec
  • 1custom6{"-1";"-1";"-2";"-2";2;4} =
  • (4) =
  • 4
  • Batlar
  • Thu Oct 6, 2011 5:48 pm
  • [+]
  • 55508. derrickec
  • 1custom6{"-1";"-1";"-2";"-2";1;3} =
  • (-1) =
  • -1
  • Starbuck
  • Thu Oct 6, 2011 5:49 pm
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow wow I can't believe we did it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Derrick
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb


Round 2.1

FTL is at 2
DISTANCE is at 0
NO CONTACTS on the DRADIS
2 DAMAGE to Galactica
NO CHARACTERS are Demoralized
STARBUCK is Brigged




Admiral Adama, please choose your action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
[1]  Prev «  3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7  Next »  [7] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.