Lost Cities» Forums » General

Subject: Recommendations to replace lost cities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Troy Dahnert
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
I've been playing Lost cities for the last 6 months or so every day over lunch with a colleague. I'm looking for something else we could break out. Here's the things we love about Lost Cities that we are looking for.

1. Quick setup and quick play. Can finish game by end of lunch.
2. A bit of luck to keep things fun.
3. Plays well with two players.

Really appreciate any recommendations.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Taylor Nakamoto
United States
Montrose
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Court of the Medici

Jaipur - maybe a little fiddly on set-up for your tastes
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent Reuber
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Most of the Kosmos 2-player games are well worth while. I'd also suggest Knizia's Battle Line.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Kearon
United Kingdom
Cardiff
Wales
flag msg tools
badge
My current favourite in this vein is Dragonheart.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Framingham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I second the suggestion for Battle Line.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Frandson
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Balloon cup. Quick, tactical, with a bit of luck. Lots of nice tit for tat

Kahuna- also quick, tit for tat type game, pretty theme

Cribbage, of course, more luck than skill, but just enough to pretend you won based on skill.

We have also been playing old-fashioned, two-handed pinochle. See my review under Pinochle.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/662655/2-player-classic-...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Crespi
Italy
Bologna
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I Love battle line. And I think it is a great choice, as pointed out by Adverb and Kentreuber.