Me too. I have not the rules at hand (nor this silly computer downloads the pdf from here on BGG to check) but I am pretty sure that the rule says that you can play it when you play a treasure card, not necessairly when you are in the given location. Read the exsact explanation of the bonus card for that.
Hi to you, To continue about this special card (Bongo), can we play it even if the adjacent location is opposite of the water current of the river road? We say yes, because we don't have to move the figure... What do you think? Bruno, pouvez-vous m'aider? Merci, Thanks! ..Yves