Subject: Strategic Primer for the New Player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
g k
United States
California
flag msg tools
When I started playing 7 wonders online, I went 0-12. After I read this thread:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/691370/some-complex-strategi...
I went 4-2. It's quite amazing.

All due respect to the OP, not everybody has an afternoon to read that dissertation, so I thought I'd try to write a concise primer here. Let me know if you feel I glossed over anything important, or where I could shorten the primer even further.

*Overview and numbers *
7 wonders is a drafting game. The best strategy is not necessarily the most powerful, but the one of least resistance. When you compete directly with another player, you may expend a lot of resources to accomplish nothing. The best way to win is to avoid conflict - opponents can still disrupt your strategy by discarding your cards for cash or slipping your cards under their wonder stages, but none of these will ever be as harmful as direct competition for the same pool of resources.

In the game you draft a total of 18 cards across 3 ages. Every pick is precious.
If you discard your pick for money every turn, you would end the game with 19 points (ignoring military). A typical game winner ends the game with 55-70 points.

You don't have to rush to build wonder stages; their virtue is that you can build them at any time. Wait until you get a "hand full of crap" or see a card that you want to make scarce (brown, grey, green, red, or purple - rarely yellow or blue) so you can still make full use of that turn.

You are generally weaker against the player who passes cards to you and stronger against the player who you pass cards to. Keep this in mind when picking fights.

*Brown / gray cards*