Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Cargo Noir» Forums » General

Subject: Remembering where you pulled out rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say this about the resolving ship's phase - Phase 1 - as an option:

Quote:
Abandon this Port's Cargo to the competition by removing his Ship and taking his coins back into his Safe. Important: By doing so, the player forfeits any chance to get
this Cargo (unless other players keep the competition
alive for another turn). He is not allowed to send ships
back to this Port when redeploying his ships during Phase
3 of this turn, though he may still do so in later turns.


We've only played a couple of times, but found that during step 2 (trading in for goods) we forgot which ports were backed out of a couple of times (during prolonged step 2 calcluating). I realize it only really matters if someone has a Syndicate card and got two coins for backing out. But there's a little memory element in play to keep them from accidentally going back to the same port in step 3.

Can anyone suggest a good method of marking a port that was abandoned?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dave boulton
United Kingdom
etchingham
E. Sussex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
we have used glass lump things in the past
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Howell
United States
Lenexa
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Take the syndicate bonus coins as soon as you back out of a port. If you can find some pieces from another game where the colors match the ships, you could place a cube or something on the port you back out of. I only play this with 2 players so we never had this come up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Staudt
Germany
Rutesheim
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If they backed out there has to be at least one person still bidding there.
If they let someone break this rule, they do not deserve better ...

Just kidding.

But since there is someone directly disadvantaged by this move, you might simply "allow" this rule breakage if nobody notices.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Howell
United States
Lenexa
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The above post is true, the person left at the port surely would remember that the other player(s) backed out. If somebody tries to go back into a port they just backed out of and nobody calls them on it, then so be it. They should be paying attention! I like this idea.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.