Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Saint Petersburg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trade Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Staines
United Kingdom
Grimsby
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Of all the games I've ever played this game has to have one of the worst written rulesbooks. So many ambiguities and unexplained points. Is there a decent FAQ around?

One particular point we had arise was with the 'you may play cards from your hand' as an action. Can you play trade cards in any phase other than the trade phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United Kingdom
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
I'll think of something witty to put here...
mbmbmbmbmb
Which cards are the trade cards again?

As an action you can do one of:
1. Buy a card from the board
2. Take a card from the board to hand
3. Buy a card from your hand

(There may be exceptions like 'Use Observatory', but in general you'll be doing one of the above three.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Farrell
Australia
Aspley
Queensland
flag msg tools
Averagely Inadequate
badge
Buster Keaton from 'Go West'
mbmbmbmbmb
High Elf Andrew wrote:
Can you play trade cards in any phase other than the trade phase?


yes, any card, any phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Liken
New Zealand
Christchurch
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Trade cards are the multicoloured ones that we generally seem to call "upgrades". You can purchase them (from the tableau) or play them from your hand during any phase - as you can with any card. Phase only matters for which cards are "scored". For this reason you tend to play or purchase cards of the current phase, but this is not always the case - sometimes you need to clear your hand to pick up a card that has just appeared on the tableau (and which you may not be able to afford or want to pay for currently).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Collins
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
As others have said, you can buy any available card in any phase, and you can play any card from your hand in any phase.

Usually, you will be playing cards in their own phase - e.g. workers in the worker phase, etc - because you'll see the quickest return on them. If you play/buy a worker card in the building phase, for example, you'll have to wait through the building phase, the aristo phase, the trading/upgrade phase, and then the next worker phase before he'll earn you any money. In the meantime, you could've been using the money you spent on him on other things.

But there are times when it's useful to buy/play a card during the "wrong" phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.