11 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » General

Subject: Looking for total newbies for a video-tutorial recording session. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Koba
Faroe Islands
msg tools
Me and a friend of mine, who play on Vassal, have been thinking about doing a total newbie tutorial session, and recording it. A uneditied playthrough session 2 - 3 hours, where we introduce a total newbie to the ASL system.

No previous knowledge of ASL is required. In fact, we would like to find a boardgamer, with no wargaming background, to teach him the basics of ASL. Total basics: "This is a hex. This is a squad. etc. etc." This will then be recorded and posted in it's raw format to youtube or vimeo.

The reason for doing it in this raw format, is the lack of real video playthrough for beginners on the net. There are a lot of excellent primers from Steadman, which we like, but they are too short and do more of an overview of the different aspects. We want to show more real play, where the right questions get asked at the right times, by this newbie. Our thought is, that if we can teach a newbie to play a basic infantry only scenario from scratch and record it, then the ASL community would be richer in the long run, as a lot of newbies will get easy access to a real kickstart-video into the series.

I myself am a newbie compared to most ASL guys, but my friend Eoin is more proficient in the rules, and we will do our best to introduce a newbie to this game.

Prerequisite is, that the player has a good mic, as sound is important.

This will not be a very veru serious, 100% rules correct playthrough. And we'll probably make some mistakes. But still, newbies need a video where they can get easily across the first big shockwave of rules. Casual and fun.

We have no date as of when, but we are in no rush. And at the earliest it will be in 14 days or so. Probably later.

Thanx for listening!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Miller
United States