Subject: ASL Is NOT a Game That Can Be Played Casually. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Akiva
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Find other players. Either the game will click with people and they'll want to learn it or it won't. If it's the latter, you can't force it and it's a waste of your time to try (and to get upset about it).

Find other players.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey D Myers
United States
Los Ranchos
New Mexico
flag msg tools
"Always rely upon a happy mind alone." Geshe Chekhawa.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No, not unreasonable, but if a dog were a canary bird, it would whistle instead of bark.

Speaking as a newbie, I was long shy of ASL because of the committment that I knew that it would require. Happy that I made the plunge, though!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Norwood
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wrote:

he simple fact is that ASL is a difficult and demanding game. You can't play it in a casual and passive manner, the way you can just plop down and join in some random Eurogame.

That's what happens when you take a Euro-gamer and give him a real wargame. Most Euro-gamers think they can learn anything on the fly and play half decent. ASL is not that beast.

Eurogames are like going to high school. you can get by on half the attendance and even less than half the effort.

ASL is a full PHD in Wargaming. Learn it or sink.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
"I am living off the government tit! Sucking it dry!"
(since 1970)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
markgravitygood wrote:
wrote:

he simple fact is that ASL is a difficult and demanding game. You can't play it in a casual and passive manner, the way you can just plop down and join in some random Eurogame.

That's what happens when you take a Euro-gamer and give him a real wargame. Most Euro-gamers think they can learn anything on the fly and play half decent. ASL is not that beast.