$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Development card question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rick Sheppard
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
my group has been playing with the following rule,

A player may not build a given development if another copy of it is currently in any players tableau.

for example there can only be one investment credits played in a game.


I was reading up on the rules and on page 4 in the rules it says:

"A player may not build a given development if another copy of it is currently in his tableau."


from that I feel that we have been playing it wrong. I didn't see anything in the FAQ that would lead me to believe that otherwise. Can someone confirm / disprove the way we've been playing? Thanks!


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Etherton
United States
Carlsbad
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Two different people can play the same development into their tableaus.

The same person cannot play two copies of the same development into their own tableau.
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Saya
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
etherton wrote:
Two different people can play the same development into their tableaus.

The same person cannot play two copies of the same development into their own tableau.


Correct. However thanks to Contact Specialist and Research Labs it would be more precise to say: "Two or more different people . . ."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
etherton wrote:
The same person cannot play two copies of the same development into their own tableau.

A fine point -- a player may build a development that can be discarded for later effect (such as Colony Ships or New Military Tactics), use and discard it, and then build another copy of it later.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
etherton wrote:
The same person cannot play two copies of the same development into their own tableau.

A fine point -- a player may build a development that can be discarded for later effect (such as Colony Ships or New Military Tactics), use and discard it, and then build another copy of it later.


This is a question that only just occurred to me.

If you have R&D Crash Program already in your tableau, is it legal to discard R&D Crash Program in order to develop another copy of R&D Crash Program (for example, to gain the Phase II bonus of Public Works, or to see what other people develop before you decide whether to end the game)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Eric Brosius wrote:
If you have R&D Crash Program already in your tableau, is it legal to discard R&D Crash Program in order to develop another copy of R&D Crash Program?

No. At the point you *place* it (as opposed to after you pay for it), you already have another copy of it in your tableau, which is illegal.

(Building is a two-step process: placing it (simultaneously) and then paying for it. There's no "tentative" placement, see what's going on, then decide to not spend something, have that decision in turn invalidate your build, then "go back in time" and undo your placement. What you place you must be able to legally pay for and build.)
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Sheppard
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
etherton wrote:
Two different people can play the same development into their tableaus.

The same person cannot play two copies of the same development into their own tableau.


That's what I thought. Thanks for the replies everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.