Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Zombies!!!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about Zombies!!! 2nd ed. rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bran delion

Utah
msg tools
Hi - I just bought the game and have played twice, but I'm not sure about the language of the rules. Looking for clarification, if anyone can help.

1. Rule #7 on Turn Sequence Overview says, "At the end of the turn, you may discard one event card from your hand." The keyword is 'may,' not 'must.' How is it generally played - a player may choose to discard, or must discard?

2. Under Player Movement Rules, "If a player moves onto a space containing a life or bullet token and no zombie, the token is immediately added to that player's collection." - Does this mean the player must stop on that tile and move no further in order to collect it, or can the player scoop the item as he or she moves to the next tile?

3. Are cards with items supposed to be turned face up immediately, or can they be kept within the player's three cards for later? Relating to the 'Butterfingers' card - if a player doesn't have an item in play, and no bullets, does the player lose anything?

Thank you!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shaun Rice
United States
Long Island City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
brandelion wrote:
1. Rule #7 on Turn Sequence Overview says, "At the end of the turn, you may discard one event card from your hand." The keyword is 'may,' not 'must.' How is it generally played - a player may choose to discard, or must discard?


You may - you don't have to - sometimes your cards just suck, so it gives you the option of discarding if you'd like.

brandelion wrote:
2. Under Player Movement Rules, "If a player moves onto a space containing a life or bullet token and no zombie, the token is immediately added to that player's collection." - Does this mean the player must stop on that tile and move no further in order to collect it, or can the player scoop the item as he or she moves to the next tile?


You movement continues unless you'd like to stop. The dice roll gives you a number of spaces you can move. Any zombies or tokens must be dealt with or collected on spaces you land on before you continue, but it dosent stop the move.

brandelion wrote:
3. Are cards with items supposed to be turned face up immediately, or can they be kept within the player's three cards for later? Relating to the 'Butterfingers' card - if a player doesn't have an item in play, and no bullets, does the player lose anything?


You can keep them in your hand - you only play them face up when you "use them". Many of them have specifications on where you have to be before you can place them down in front of you too. The Butterfingers card says you can choose someone to lose an item/weapon or up to 2 bullets. So if the person has only 1, they lose one, if they don't have any bullets or weapons, Id suggest saving it for a more opportune time lol - Remember its played on someone esle, not your character...

Have fun!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
La Mesa
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) "May" is may and "must" is must. Discarding is your option. IIRC, it also states your turn is officially over if you discard.

2) Entering the non-zombie square is all that you need. If you roll a six and have six squares with tokens, you could get all of them.

3) You choose when to play cards.

Butterfingers on a player with nothing in their hands = they drop nothing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teh Slipperboy

Allen Park
Michigan
msg tools
Wouldn't want to disappoint Frumpish...
mbmbmb
brandelion wrote:
3. Are cards with items supposed to be turned face up immediately, or can they be kept within the player's three cards for later? Relating to the 'Butterfingers' card - if a player doesn't have an item in play, and no bullets, does the player lose anything?

Thank you!


Weapons/Items are probably the most confusing thing in the game because they seem to good to be true. You can play them when you are in the right location (if they don't have a location, you can play them anywhere). When you play them, you put them face up on the table in front of you. When they move from your hand to the table, that counts as your card play for that turn.

After that, they stay in play and you just have that weapon/item at your disposal. It doesn't change your hand-size and using it doesn't count as your card play for that turn.

It might help to remember the cards are from the Event deck and that the event is really finding the item. After you find it, it's no longer an event and doesn't follow the event rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bran delion

Utah
msg tools
Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.