David Webb
United States
Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I had used ebay to buy some things before, but never on an auction. So I saw a game that would go well with a school club and it was at a low price. I set a price ten bucks higher than the current bid (4 bucks) and no movement occurred for two or three days and I had the high bid. 25 seconds before it closed someone outbid, I hurriedly bid again, they outbid, and before I could raise it it ended. I assume it was some program that did it for someone. I guess I'm just naive, but I'll leave ebay auctions (and ebay for that matter) to the clowns who don't place any bids till their program lets them snipe it away at the last second.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam DiRocco
United States
North Lima
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm a Amateur Extra Class Ham radio Operator -- W8SDD
mbmbmbmbmb
There are lots of programs that do exactly that. You place your highest bid in the program and then tell the program when to place that final bid. I rarely use eBay myself because of this. On the rare occasions that I do use eBay I just set my bid for the highest I am willing to pay for that item and then ignore the auction. I lose about 99% of the auctions. What really pisses my off is that they are all lost be $1 in the last 5 seconds. Just my 2 cents.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Smith
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
.... what?

That's usually how eBay works...

Just put what you're willing to pay for the item, and no more. If you don't win, then someone wanted it more than you did. If you put the highest amount you would pay for it, then what's the problem if you don't win it?

Are you aware of the eBay auto bid system? You know that they can just set an amount, and as long as you don't bid over that amount it is automatically bid into the system directly after you do.... that's a built in eBay feature.

I see absolutely no problem here, but that's up to you. shake