Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » General

Subject: Formosa question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

Does this card get taken out of the game as soon as US player plays China card? If so, are you supposed to go through deck and find it to take out of game?

Is that how it works or does it only get taken out of game if it is in someone's hand?

Thx,
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Taylor
United States
Katy
TX
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Formosan Resolution is an asterisked event. When the event happens it never goes back in the deck. Leave it out as a reminder until the US plays the China Card.

You never take this out of play for any other reason. The US can play the China Card as much as it wants before the event comes into play.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Davis
United States
New Concord
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If it helps, think of it this way. When you play Formosa for the event, the card goes out of the game. The effect remains.

When the US plays the China Card, it kills the Formosa effect, if possible. But the China Card has no effect on the Formosa card.

...but maybe that won't help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
coolpapa wrote:
If it helps, think of it this way. When you play Formosa for the event, the card goes out of the game. The effect remains.

When the US plays the China Card, it kills the Formosa effect, if possible. But the China Card has no effect on the Formosa card.

...but maybe that won't help.


So, if the Formosa card is still in the deck (hasn't been used) and the US player has used the China card, what happens when the Formosa card ends up in someones hand? I assume the ops can be used but the Formosa event cannot happen, correct?

Thx,
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris F.
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
jonpfl wrote:
So, if the Formosa card is still in the deck (hasn't been used) and the US player has used the China card, what happens when the Formosa card ends up in someones hand? I assume the ops can be used but the Formosa event cannot happen, correct?

Until Formosan Revolution's event happens (headlined by either player, played as an event by the US, or played for OPs by the USSR) you can ignore all the event text on the card, including the part about the event being cancelled by the US playing The China Card.

You might be thinking of the cards that prevent other cards. Camp David Accords prevents Arab-Israeli War for example. That isn't the case with Formosan Revolution.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
jonpfl wrote:
coolpapa wrote:
If it helps, think of it this way. When you play Formosa for the event, the card goes out of the game. The effect remains.

When the US plays the China Card, it kills the Formosa effect, if possible. But the China Card has no effect on the Formosa card.

...but maybe that won't help. :D


So, if the Formosa card is still in the deck (hasn't been used) and the US player has used the China card, what happens when the Formosa card ends up in someones hand? I assume the ops can be used but the Formosa event cannot happen, correct?

Thx,
jonpfl


No. The condition for cancellation did not exist when a previous use of the China card was made by the US. The Formosan Revolution had not yet happened (been played as an event) so the condition for its removal does not apply either.

As Christopher says you may be mixing it up with cards that specifically say they cancel other cards. Formosan Revolution has the cancellation conditions on itself so it can't cancel until its played and then the condition subsequently occurs.

Also to do it any other way would be a real pain.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Halfinger wrote:
jonpfl wrote:
coolpapa wrote:
If it helps, think of it this way. When you play Formosa for the event, the card goes out of the game. The effect remains.

When the US plays the China Card, it kills the Formosa effect, if possible. But the China Card has no effect on the Formosa card.

...but maybe that won't help.


So, if the Formosa card is still in the deck (hasn't been used) and the US player has used the China card, what happens when the Formosa card ends up in someones hand? I assume the ops can be used but the Formosa event cannot happen, correct?

Thx,
jonpfl


No. The condition for cancellation did not exist when a previous use of the China card was made by the US. The Formosan Revolution had not yet happened (been played as an event) so the condition for its removal does not apply either.

As Christopher says you may be mixing it up with cards that specifically say they cancel other cards. Formosan Revolution has the cancellation conditions on itself so it can't cancel until its played and then the condition subsequently occurs.

Also to do it any other way would be a real pain.


Ok, that makes sense

After I thought about it, I realized we played it wrong. Thanks for the help!

jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.