$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on order of phase IV rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian O'Toole
Australia
Queens Park
WA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
We had some confusion in our last game regarding when the mandatory use of consume powers happens.

In a two player game, for instance:

Player 1 has chosen Consume: Trade
Player 2 has chosen Consume: x2VPs

Is the play order:
1. Player 1 performs his Consume: Trade action
2. Player 1 & 2 perform their mandatory Consume actions
3. Player 2 performs his Consume: x2VPs action with any remaining goods

or

1. Player 1 performs his Consume: Trade action
2. Player 2 performs his Consume: x2VPs
3. (in a 3+ player game other players would now perform their mandatory Consume actions)

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Pereira
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
See the person next to you? Kill! Kill!!! KILLL!!!!
badge
I'm your baby! Can you feel it?
mbmbmbmbmb
So taking your example what happens is this:

1 - player one trades 1 card and draws the according amount of cards from the draw deck.

2 - both players perform the mandatory consume action, only that player 1 receives the regular VPs, whereas player 2 receives double the VPs due to the bonus.

Hope this helps.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All your consume powers happen in the order that you choose, whether or not they are mandatory. Trading happens before consumption for that players. If you care about the order in which the two players execute their consume phases, start with the player with the lowest-numbered start world and proceed clockwise.

In your example, assuming Player 1 has the lowest numbered start world:

1. Player 1 performs his Trade action
2. Player 1 then performs all mandatory consume actions
3. Player 2 performs all mandatory consume actions, doubling any VPs he gets (save those than cannot be doubled).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon M
United States
Branchburg
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tscook wrote:
It isn't an issue if the VPs run out (as everyone is awarded them) and it doesn't matter in which order people draw cards.


It does matter if VPs may run out, because a player may wish to extend the game another round by consuming in a suboptimal way.

It does matter in which order players draw cards IF the draw pile is going to be reshuffled, because players who draw later will draw from a different pool of cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian O'Toole
Australia
Queens Park
WA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thanks guys. Turns out we were playing this incorrectly (as option 1). Actually became a good tactic for stalling someone on the xVPs track to victory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
QBert80 wrote:
In your example, assuming Player 1 has the lowest numbered start world:

1. Player 1 performs his Trade action
2. Player 1 then performs all mandatory consume actions
3. Player 2 performs all mandatory consume actions, doubling any VPs he gets (save those than cannot be doubled).

Quoted for truth.

For completeness's sake, assuming Player 2 has the lowest numbered start world:

1. Player 2 performs all mandatory consume actions, doubling any VPs he gets (save those than cannot be doubled)
2. Player 1 performs his Trade action
3. Player 1 then performs all mandatory consume actions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
. . . give a ship.
mbmbmbmbmb
mumushanshi wrote:
QBert80 wrote:
In your example, assuming Player 1 has the lowest numbered start world:

1. Player 1 performs his Trade action
2. Player 1 then performs all mandatory consume actions
3. Player 2 performs all mandatory consume actions, doubling any VPs he gets (save those than cannot be doubled).

Quoted for truth.

For completeness's sake, assuming Player 2 has the lowest numbered start world:

1. Player 2 performs all mandatory consume actions, doubling any VPs he gets (save those than cannot be doubled)
2. Player 1 performs his Trade action
3. Player 1 then performs all mandatory consume actions.


I think trade happens first, regardless.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
scifiantihero wrote:
I think trade happens first, regardless.

I knew some people would be playing it wrong, so I took the opportunity to clarify. whistle
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
scifiantihero wrote:
trade happens first, regardless.

This is false; trade is a bonus, not a separate phase, and is done at the beginning of that player's consume, before using any of that player's consume powers.

Edit: for clarity
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
. . . give a ship.
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
scifiantihero wrote:
I think trade happens first, regardless.

This is false.



Well, it's certainly not false that I thought it!

Hmm. Not that it's ever mattered in my thousand games to go read the rulebook, I guess.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Delano
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is one of those arguments that, because it hardly ever matters, people make their own interpretations on what is correct. Then they get into heated discussions when they encounter someone else with a differing opinion on the one in a hundred plays when it counts.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Norwood
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
scifiantihero wrote:
Tom Lehmann wrote:
scifiantihero wrote:
I think trade happens first, regardless.

This is false.



Well, it's certainly not false that I thought it!

Hmm. Not that it's ever mattered in my thousand games to go read the rulebook, I guess.



"He's a Maineiac, Maineiac, he's from Maine!"

Ayup. Can't get there from heeyah.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.