$10.00
Jeromie Rand
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Introduction

This is a game that was played on KGS. Both of the participants were approximately 15 kyu - not absolute beginners, but not yet very strong. I was playing white in this game. I decided to comment on the flow of the game and a few of the mistakes I noticed. My hope is that by reviewing my games, I will notice what kind of mistakes I am making and learn to eliminate them. I also find it helpful to hear how other low-level players are thinking in addition to commentary from stronger players, so I hope this helps others grow in enjoyment of the game.

Move 10 - He's got a solid base on the upper right side, while I've begun to establish territory and influence on the left. My stones seem a little tightly bunched: my thought with move 8 was to jump out of the corner so I didn't get surround by his stones that were pushing toward me, but I probably could have been a little more aggressive. It seems to me that the next key point is somewhere in between my stones on the lower left and his single stone in the lower right. My stones are positioned to exert influence in that direction, so it's important that I make a move there fairly soon. One of my difficulties with Go at this level is that I have an adequate sense of what part of the board is important, but I often struggle to know what is the optimal move in that region.

Move 14 - He played on my side, but I didn't immediately respond. Instead I took the point at K3, because I saw that area as essential to my game. After I jumped out there, he tried to make sure his stone in the corner had a base. Perhaps I should have been a little more aggressive with stone 12? At any rate, after his response I put played a pincer at stone 14 that also strengthened my stones in the upper left.

Move 16 - He jumped out at 15 in response to the pincer, and I played tenuki at 16. This threatens to envelop his stones in the corner.