Subject: Brits = Confrontational, French = Expansionist ??? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
mbmbmbmbmb
I know this might be the millionth post concerning this. But it is a b&%$ and a half to read through all theses threads, finding the information. So maybe theres someone who would still answer my questions...

I am still quite new at this, with 3 games under my belt. But I've been following the discussions about the 2nd edition changes. Whether they make it better or worse; whether it can be fixed at all; how to, and so on, and so on...
...and I've been wondering...

It seems to me that this game, when played consequently, and for the win, provides exactly two strategies for winning.
One for the Brits - the military approach, with sieges etc.
And one for the French - the expansionist approach, with settling, upgrading etc.

So far, the Halifax Hammer (which I have not yet learned how to execute in detail, thank god) is the strategy that is unbeatable with the existing set of rules, based on military superiority and money engine of the British. And the new changes even make it worse.

But even if we fix the Halifax Hammer somehow, there is another "problem" (I would call it one) - the British could never win a settling approach against the French.

So we can either try to establish some kind of very fragile balance between those two strategies (if even possible) - thereby deciding the game by one or two card draws, and hence, luck. We could also just throw a die and determin victory this way, is how I would judge this.

Or we tip the scales towards the French victory.

Maybe I am wrong, and god knows I want to be, but this is how the situation presents itself to me, now.