12 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Need help with plastic piece frames rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Commander Video
msg tools
Hello all,
I just got this game and I'm very excited to play it. One problem-- I cannot find an effective and careful method to get the pieces out of their frames (I am not very experienced with this). Does anyone have any good tips on how to get them out carefully? Especially the units like Dreadnaughts and Carriers which are attached in three places.

Thanks in advance.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Try an X-Acto blade or a small set of clippers; you can find either at a craft store. Twisting them off can work as well, but it'll leave the little bits of plastic on the ships where the frame meets them and be really hard on your fingers.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarek W
Poland
flag msg tools
mb
I twisted them, they look fine - only after close examination one can spot connection leftovers. Not very comfortable for fingers though.

But cheer up. The pieces in Shattered Empire are cut already. Such a relief when I opened the box
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Carlough
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Free Cascadia!
badge
High adventure in the world of high finance...
mbmbmbmbmb
I used a paire of wire cutters for the easy spots and an exacto knife for the more delicate spots and then trimmed the flashing with the exacto. Only took me a few hours
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Randolph
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Old fashioned single edged razor blades are excellent too.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Commander Video
msg tools
Thanks for all the advice, I will try these methods.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick R
United Kingdom
Havant
Hampshire
flag msg tools
So long and thanks for all the fish
badge