$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dragon Valley» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sappers - When do buildings become "unsappered" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Mikolaj
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
CW,

Started thinking of some strategies & came up with this scenario.

If someone is one move away from getting enough units into a siege to end it & you Sapper a building such as Fletcher so that the siege will not be completed, how exactly does the timing of all this work? Assume that this siege would put the player over 30 when scored.

In the Q & A on the back of the rules, it states "The game only ends if one or more players' score marker is 30 or more at the end of his turn.

Since Sappers would prevent the scoring of the siege during the player's turn (when would it get scored by the way?), he would therefore not be at 30 or more at the end of his turn."

Hope I explained it correctly and I look forward to your answer.


P.S. In a similar vein, if you Sapper your own Fletcher in order to keep someone from jumping your siege (they would not have enough units to finish the siege) and on your turn, you move enough units in to finish the siege (after the Sapper expires), what happens?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CW Karstens
United States
Nevada
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb

Sieges score the moment the required units (or upgraded equivalent) is on the Enemy tile.

Sappers can only be activated in step 5.D so you cannot do that in response to someone trying to complete one of your sieges.

The Sapper effect is the last thing to end, even after checking for the end game condition so a Sapper effect can postpone the game by a turn (or more if the player with the Sapper uses his/her action to recharge the Sapper).

The rules in the rulebook proper are correct in that the end of round is when the end game score is checked, not at the end of a player's step 6 phase.

As the end game score check is at the end of a round, not the end of a player's turn, the player who would have completed the siege may end up causing an extra round for everyone. The start of the turn, the player will get the 30 points but, the round finishes for another check.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Mikolaj
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
3dragonfly wrote:


Sappers can only be activated in step 5.D so you cannot do that in response to someone trying to complete one of your sieges.



Based on where your opponent's troops are on the board (and what cards are in play for the turn), you can see if they are one movement away from your (or their) siege. That is what I'm talking about. Wasn't talking about a Magic-like "response".

So, to sum up, the last two things in a turn are....

- Check for end of game condition
- Sapper(s) expire

Is that correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CW Karstens
United States
Nevada
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb

Yes, that is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.