$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Cave Evil» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement after invoking items/spells? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Weier
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules for movement in combo with invoking are stated in two places.

On page 12:
Quote:
If the Necromancer moved before or after Invoking, the new Squad or the existing Squad that received the Invoked card CANNOT move.

This seems to imply that the movement restriction is enforced no matter what type of card is being invoked into a new or existing squad, thus moving next to a squad and invoking an item or spell into it would then prevent that squad from taking its movement.

On page 22:
Quote:
If a Necromancer Invokes a new Creature card and places Creature/s into new or existing Squad, the Necromancer may move OR the new Squad (or squad the invoked creature joins) may move but not both.

This seems to imply that the movement restriction applies only when the invoked card is a creature, thus in the above situation a squad that receives only an invoked item or spell after the Necro has moved is still free to use its own movement.

Which interpretation is correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nathan hayden
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
2 is Correct. Movement restrictions only apply to creatures. Items, Spells and resources could be passed from one end of the board to the other after being invoked or picked up.

This movement restriction is in place to curb what we called "missiles". We are trying to assure no creature gets a movement advantage. If the Necromancer can move 3 spaces and Invoke a Drakor and then the Drakor could move 6 spaces moving a total of 9 spaces in one turn.

We wanted to assure players could count spaces and could make calculated guesses at the possible dangers. Crazy sudden movement could still occur, but not as often. A Drakor could be made and have a Tooth of Speed added and be just as sudden. But rare.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Weier
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response. I would recommend you clarify the language on page 12 to specify creatures only in any future revisions of the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nathan hayden
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutely. When we made the rule book it was tough to gauge how others would see it, and what questions they would have. When we write the rules knowing each naunce it's hard to know which nuances are we forgetting to mention. Thank you for pointing these out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.