Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Battlestar Galactica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cylon Swarm Crisis Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave F.
Netherlands
Schelluinen
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about the Cylon Swarm Crisis card.

Are the ships shown on the setup image placed in addition to currently placed ships or do they replace them? I know that currently placed ships get activated with the first symbol.

What happens to manned Vipers? Do they stay or are they placed back in the reserves with the pilot in the Hangar Deck?

I'm talking about these cards:
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cc the calm
Austria
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the ships are placed in addition. Setups never remove any ships currently on the gameboard!

In this case you would fire with the basestar(s) that are alreay on the board (if any), then follow to step 2 "setup" and place all units as shown on the card.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave F.
Netherlands
Schelluinen
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, thanks for your reply.

I was trying the game out with a solitaire game yesterday (playing Apollo) and this card came out fairly quickly with another basestar already there and I thought "...surely not...". I got to thinking: "What if there already are 2 Basestars? Then this setup can't be done, so it must be replacement instead of addition." Guess I was wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Harkins
United States
Salamanca
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cylon units from crisis cards are added up to the limit of the models provided. For instance, if you were instructed to place two basestars by the card and one was already in play, you would end up with two total basestars. The current player decides which ships are not placed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cc the calm
Austria
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You are welcome

There is a section in the rulebook that handles component limitations. That would have given you the answer to your initial question. Check it out!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pieter
Netherlands
Maastricht
flag msg tools
This too shall pass.
badge
Good intentions are no substitute for a good education.
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, but it is an FFG rulebook...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Clementson
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For reference it's on P28 of the rulebook

p28 wrote:

Component Limitations
...

Tokens and plastic ships are limited to the quantity provided,
and can run out during the game. The current player always
decides the order in which a component type is placed, and if
there are not enough, he decides which ones are not placed.

Example: A Cylon attack Crisis Card is drawn that requires
two basestars to be placed on the game board. There is
already one basestar on the game board, so there is only one
more that can be placed. The current player decides which of
the two basestars listed on the Cylon attack card to place on
the game board.


...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave F.
Netherlands
Schelluinen
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I see, I had browsed the rulebook forwards and backwards yet I skipped this part I think.

The rulebook is quite a bit of work and I'm more of a lookup type than a read front to end type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.