Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mansions of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you move diagonally across tiles? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darcy Hartwick
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

This is probably in the rules somewhere but I couldn't remember offhand - again with scenario 3 - blood ties, there is a large outdoor area, and several spots where tiles match up such that there is no obstacle to moving diagonally.

There are clear strategic implications though, in terms of where to place fire as the keeper (its easier to avoid with more movement options) and where to move monsters.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
Overtext pending moderation...
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can move diagonally.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
From the middle of the right-hand side of page 8 of the rulebook:

Quote:
Investigators may move between two spaces that are diagonally
adjacent. Due to imperfections in die cutting, if spaces between
two tiles appear that they should be diagonally adjacent, then they
are. All non-adjacent spaces very clearly do not share a white
border by at least 1/8 of an inch.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
aitrus wrote:
This is probably in the rules somewhere but I couldn't remember offhand - again with scenario 3 - blood ties, there is a large outdoor area, and several spots where tiles match up such that there is no obstacle to moving diagonally.

It is in the rules. For a change (for FFG rules that is) it is in a more obvious place

Page 8 Movement Step.
Quote:
Investigators may move between two spaces that are diagonally
adjacent. Due to imperfections in die cutting, if spaces between
two tiles appear that they should be diagonally adjacent, then they
are. All non-adjacent spaces very clearly do not share a white
border by at least 1/8 of an inch.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darcy Hartwick
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I would assume the same applies to monster movement?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
aitrus wrote:
Thanks, I would assume the same applies to monster movement?

From page 11, Moving Monsters.
Quote:
Like investigators, monsters may only move to adjacent spaces, can
move diagonally, and cannot move through walls or sealed doors.
Monsters may freely move through normal doors, and they ignore
Lock cards.

The rules are available on-line, you can read them yourself
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.