Sorry if this is a question that has been previously answered. Can a figure in a hindering terrain square ever have his stealth outwitted? At our local game store the answer was no stealth cannot be outwitted if the stealthy character is in hindering terrain. The rules state...The character with outwit must "be within 10 squares and line of fire to the target." Stealth states "When it is not your turn, hindered lines of fire drawn to this character are blocked." So since the target of the outwitting attempt is in hindering terrain with stealth doesn't the line of fire, even if adjacent, qualify as a hindered line of fire having to enter the hindering terrain of the stealthy character? If say, the characters where separated by four squares with the outwitting character in a clear square and no hindering terrain in the line of fire other than the stealthy characters square the outwit attempt would not be possible, right? So does the fact that they are adjacent in the first example then not really matter? I always thought that being adjacent allowed any character to melee a stealthy character so then also assumed that outwit would also be available. One of our strategies was always to run up an outwitting character to an adjacent square of a stealthy character, thereby unstealthing the and then pummeling the formerly stealthy character with range attacks hopefully knocking him out of his stealth on the dial. Clarification would be great.
Unless a character has an ability that lets them ignore stealth or the effects of hindering terrain, they can't outwit stealth, even if adjacent.
Note that characters like Talia who have outwit and Superman team ability can do it, since she ignores hindering terrain.
Also note that under the new rules, Stealth is only in effect during your opponant's turn. So you can prob control a stealthy opposing character's attack rolls.
Also, from the latest player's guide/erratta:
Stealth • Adjacency is not an issue when determining a line of fire to a character using Stealth and occupying hindering terrain. Powers like Probability Control, Perplex, and Outwit, which use a line of fire to determine if the effect can take place, cannot target a character using Stealth that occupies hindering terrain, even if the character with the ability is the character using Stealth itself. • A giant character that uses Stealth cannot have a line of fire drawn to it when in hindering terrain, regardless of the elevation of an opposing attacking figure.