Subject: Useless harbors? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Wienclaw
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Catan newbie here. Just played my first game with my brother and sister yesterday and we couldn't figure out how to get the harbors circled in the image below.

Are they useless? Can you settle on the corners of the single hex?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
YaVerOt YaVerOt
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
Armchair warriors often fail, and we've been poisoned by these fairy tales.
badge
Aoi Aoi toki ga toke dasheta.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can settle on the corner of a single hex. Once you build road to them of course.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth Stuart
United States
Melbourne
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You'll typically only build a settlement there if the port will provide a HUGE benefit. The 5 and 8 come up often enough that it isn't too bad, but that 11 is awful.

Since these ports were just 3:1, it is probably not beneficial for you to build there unless ALL the other options were out of reach by the time you decide you want a 3:1 port.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Wienclaw
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wizcreations wrote:
You'll typically only build a settlement there if the port will provide a HUGE benefit. The 5 and 8 come up often enough that it isn't too bad, but that 11 is awful.

Since these ports were just 3:1, it is probably not beneficial for you to build there unless ALL the other options were out of reach by the time you decide you want a 3:1 port.

The picture is just an example, but I appreciate the insight.

yaverot wrote:
Yes, you can settle on the corner of a single hex. Once you build road to them of course.

The rules that came with the base game fail to mention that. I'm stuck on the rule: "you may only build settlements on intersections".
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Newton
United Kingdom
Wiltshire