Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Start tile orientation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd Sweet
United States
Geneva
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The set-up maps show how the tile is to be pointed, but what do you use on the tile to point. Near the middle of most tiles is the recommended start position and this has an arrow on it. Do I point this arrow in the direction suggested by the starting maps in the rulebook? You also have the "arrow" that is on the edge of the tile that you use when exploring an undiscovered tile and putting that edges pointing in from point of discovery.

Thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You use the white arrow. Orient it like the diagram in the rule book.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Sweet
United States
Geneva
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If I remember correctly, the picture in the rulebook shows the tiles with the leader side instead of the terrian, so I haven't been able to figure it out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Kelly
United States
Richardson
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IirionClaus wrote:
You use the white arrow. Orient it like the diagram in the rule book.

Clearly shown on page 9.
TK
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael BD

Boston
Massachusetts
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Each tile (home tiles included) have an opaque white triangle one one of the four edges of its terrain side. When placing your home tile, this "arrow" should be pointing straight-ahead, away from the player owning the tile. The curved arrow printed somewhere towards the middle of the tile is a suggested spot for placing your capitol.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricardo Donoso
Brazil
RIBEIRÃO PRETO
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that the arrow should point accordinly to the direction of the player, but we had players changing their position on the table do take advantage, a case I remember a friend was playing Germany and was on the edge of the table, he changed his seat to make his arrow point to a more favorable position.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
rdonoso wrote:
The rules say that the arrow should point accordinly to the direction of the player, but we had players changing their position on the table do take advantage, a case I remember a friend was playing Germany and was on the edge of the table, he changed his seat to make his arrow point to a more favorable position.

Oh wow, that's a bit... Weird. We usually have regular seats o_O Just randomize seats?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emile de Maat
Netherlands
Hengelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
admin
mbmbmbmbmb
rdonoso wrote:
The rules say that the arrow should point accordinly to the direction of the player, but we had players changing their position on the table do take advantage, a case I remember a friend was playing Germany and was on the edge of the table, he changed his seat to make his arrow point to a more favorable position.

That sounds very odd. Luckily, the English rules say no such thing; they state that the tiles should be oriented as indicated in the diagrams - so no moving of the chairs will change the setup.
Civilization rules wrote:
Each player takes their home map tile (the map tile with their civilization’s leader on the back) and places it faceup in front of them, oriented as indicated in the setup diagram for the proper number of players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Purple wrote:
That sounds very odd. Luckily, the English rules say no such thing; they state that the tiles should be oriented as indicated in the diagrams - so no moving of the chairs will change the setup.

In the 4p game, the orientation of your tile depends on whether you're sitting at the right or left part of your board. This could be critical for tiles like Russia- if you're sitting to the left, both of your exploration directions have water; if you're sitting to the right, only one of your exploration directions do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricardo Donoso
Brazil
RIBEIRÃO PRETO
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IirionClaus wrote:
Purple wrote:
That sounds very odd. Luckily, the English rules say no such thing; they state that the tiles should be oriented as indicated in the diagrams - so no moving of the chairs will change the setup.

In the 4p game, the orientation of your tile depends on whether you're sitting at the right or left part of your board. This could be critical for tiles like Russia- if you're sitting to the left, both of your exploration directions have water; if you're sitting to the right, only one of your exploration directions do.


Exactly, but we DO play the american version of the game, with english rules, and the rules show a diagram that looks like this (I will use V's and A's to simulate arrows):

VxxV
xxxx
xxxx
AxxA

The thing is, we usually play in a round table, so, one of the players said: "Hey, it is NOT fair, why did you didn't made the board like THIS":

>xx<
xxxx
xxxx
>xx<

so, where he was sitting, the board looks exactly like the diagram. And was WAY favorable to him.

We let he spin his title and played, another player asked to do also and moved slightly closer to that player, we let, cause avoiding trouble is always the best, since we are all friends, but, the board was like this:

VxxV
xxxx
xxxx
>xx<

To everyone's point of view, HIS starting title was pointing like the diagram tells you to do, but the board was NOT like the diagram.

What do you guys think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Personally, I think it should have been like this

Vxx<
xxxx
xxxx
>xx^

That way, no matter where you sit, the tile looks the same.

(Starting tiles currently have two possible orientations, in the above configuration they have just one)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.