Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Rex: Final Days of an Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hylar III vs. Shield rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Vazquez
United States
Norman
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
According the the Hylar III Laser, if defending player uses a Magen Defense Shield "it" explodes, killing all units. Are leaders affected (clearly one leader is killed by the laser, but is the second killed by the explosion?). And by "it" do they mean the shield or the laser? Is either card automatically discarded because of this, or does only the loser discard anything (the user of the shield might win if they played mercenaries and the other leader was a 1 or a 2)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IIRC from Dune, everything in the region is destroyed by this explosion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Spartz
msg tools
without getting an official ruling from fantasy flight I would say everyone dies on both sides since the fluff for the original dune mechanic was from las pistols intersecting with shields (which resulted in a nuclear style explosion at the shield AND where the pistol was.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Williams
Canada
flag msg tools
Here is the full text of the card, for reference:

Hylar III Pulsar Cannon wrote:

Commit during battle.

Your opponent's leader is destroyed unless he committed a Tactical Retreat card.

If your opponent committed a Magen Energy Shield, it explodes, destroying all units and influence in the space.



Now, there are two ways to resolve this question. The first is to compare this situation with the equivalent from Dune, in which case Windopaene has already given you the answer. In Dune, no other treachery cards were resolved when a nuclear explosion occurred, and EVERYTHING, including both leaders, was destroyed.

The second way to resolve this question is to exclude Dune as a separate game and use only the rules from Rex. Using only the rules from Rex, it is clear that the term "units" does not include leaders (units and leaders are both dealt with separately int he rules for resolving a battle), therefore per the text on this card, there is no indication that your leader is destroyed. (There is also no indication that other strategy cards are not resolved, so it's still possible that your leader could be destroyed by your opponent's weapon.) Do note, however, that the card still says "destroying all units and influence in the space" so if there were units from a third party in the space, they will still be destroyed, as they would have been in Dune as well.

Whether or not any cards must be discarded depends on who wins, as always. In Dune, both players lost if a nuclear explosion occurred, so everything was discarded. In Rex, there's no mention of a change in determining the winner, so you would have to determine you respective battle strengths as usual. Since all units are destroyed, the wheel counts for nothing. The enemy's leader is dead (if he committed an Energy Shield then he cannot have committed a Tactical Retreat,) but yours may still be alive. Your opponent may or may not have played a Mercenary card, which might beat your leader for strength, so the answer cannot really be decided without more information.



Regarding what "it" means, the word "it" is used in a sentence (and, indeed, a paragraph) where ONLY the Magen Energy Shield is mentioned, so I think it's fairly clear that "it" means the shield. Not that "it" matters, since even if you insist on taking "it" to mean the Hylar III Pulsar Cannon I don't see how that would change the resolution of the card. "Explodes" is not a game mechanical term, so barring an official FAQ to the contrary, I wouldn't say any cards are discard based solely on the fact that an explosion occurred. Whether or not the shield (or cannon) survive would depend on who wins.

Thematically speaking, an "energy shield" could theoretically explode without damaging the technology that generated it, as could a "pulsar beam" (the artwork makes it apparent this is an energy weapon.) A bubble can pop without damaging the little plastic bubble-blower, even if it was still attached! So the explosion could very well leave the physical components intact while killing everyone nearby with radiation or something.


Not incidentally, in Dune, the nuclear explosion caused by a lasgun/shield combination was caused by both cards being present in the battle, which meant a player could deliberately wipe out a territory by using both himself. In Rex, the wording on this card explicitly says that your opponent must commit the shield, which means you can't commit nuclear suicide in Rex. A subtle but important difference.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.