$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: thickets of spears and dol guldur beast rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John blog
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
this is a great game but multiple card effects could be hard to determine..

for e.g
playing thickets of spears (36) to an engaged enemies dol guldur beast master(91) with 2 shadow cards - does it mean the engaged enemies will discard the 2 shadows cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uncle Potato
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Reposting from the other thread:

When you play Thicket of Spears, the chosen player's engaged enemies do not attack this phase. However, the rules state that Shadow cards are dealt at the beginning of the combat phase, which is before you have the option to play Thicket of Spears. So you would deal out the Shadow cards, then play Thicket of Spears, and then you would discard all the Shadow cards that were dealt to those enemies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the Beastmaster only gets one Shadow card, because he would get the second during step 1 of his attack (IIRC the FAQ), but since Thicket of Spears (or Feint) prevents him from attacking, he never gets to step 1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
Dam the Man wrote:
I think the Beastmaster only gets one Shadow card, because he would get the second during step 1 of his attack (IIRC the FAQ), but since Thicket of Spears (or Feint) prevents him from attacking, he never gets to step 1.

Correct. Here is the FAQ entry for the Dol Guldur Beastmaster (including errata):
FAQ wrote:
Dol Guldur Beastmaster CORE 91
Should read: "Forced: When Dol Guldur Beastmaster
attacks..."
The additional shadow card is dealt when the Dol
Guldur Beastmaster is chosen during step 1 of enemy
attack resolution.

So, if you play Thicket of Spears before resolving any attacks (usually the best choice), Dol Guldur Beastmaster will not be dealt an additional shadow card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart Rachemoss
United States
Silver City
New Mexico
flag msg tools
"All" does not imply "at least one".
mbmbmbmbmb
Nate_001 wrote:
So you would deal out the Shadow cards, then play Thicket of Spears, and then you would discard all the Shadow cards that were dealt to those enemies.

Slight correction: you need to wait until the end of the combat phase before discarding shadow cards. For now, the only time this matters is if a shadow card is Patrol Leader or Lightless Passage. They are both from the Khazad-dum expansion and both of them protect the enemy from damage until the end of the combat phase (when all shadow cards are discarded).

Edit: As pointed out below, you might as well discard the shadow cards because the enemies never attack so the shadow cards are never revealed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uncle Potato
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But when you play Thicket of Spears does that not negate the revealing and effect of the Shadow cards?

If not, then I've been playing that wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It does negate it - if the enemy doesn't attack, there's no way that the shadow card on it will be revealed. You still have to wait until the end of the combat phase to discard it, but it won't have any effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart Rachemoss
United States
Silver City
New Mexico
flag msg tools
"All" does not imply "at least one".
mbmbmbmbmb
Nate_001 wrote:
But when you play Thicket of Spears does that not negate the revealing and effect of the Shadow cards?

Yes. You are right and I was wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.