Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig Duncan
United States
Ithaca
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm teaching a college course on rule-based reasoning and I thought it would be fun, as an extra credit project for interested students, to teach the class Go and run a small Go tournament.

This is a bit foolhardy since I am rather new to Go myself (I've probably played around 30 games of 9x9 on my iPhone using the SmartGo app). But it seems worth a shot. I'm writing now to solicit advice.

I've already discovered http://playgo.to/iwtg/en/ as a nice teaching aid for Go; I will use that with my students.

My big need is for advice on playing Go on a computer online, since this is how the students will play one another.

My criteria for choosing a computer site are:

1. Ease of use (easy registration plus user friendly interface)

2. Ability to choose size of boards (e.g. I want to start them on a 9x9 board of course)

3. Ability to choose Chinese scoring (since this will be easier for my student to understand), and ease of understanding the final scoring (e.g. the site should clearly map out the final scoring areas to show how the score was generated).

4. Ease of setting up a game against a computer (including 9x9). Ideally the student should be able to set up a favorable handicap for himself/herself -- either that, or be able to adjust the level of difficulty that the computer plays at.

5. Ease of setting up a game against a particular person. (E.g. student Jane Smith will be assigned to play student John Jones in round x of the tournament. They need to be able to easily find each other and play.)

As I said, I've just been playing Go on my iPhone, so I don't have any experience yet with playing online.

One obvious possibility = KGS

I went to KGS today and registered. That was easy. The user interface seems fine and I expect that I will keep playing there myself.