$10.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Dominion: Prosperity» Forums » Rules

Subject: Forge + cost reducing effects rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If I play a Forge and something that makes coins cost 1 less but not less than 0 (e.g. Bridge from Intrigue, Highway from Hinterlands), the way things work is to simply subtract 1 from each cost card being forged, and grab a card cost (also at -1) is the sum of all of those 'costing less' cards?

So for example, play a Forge to Forge away...

0 Copper
0 Copper
3 Silver
5 Festival
I can now (must) grab something at 8 cost (so Province)

If executing the above again after playing a Highway, we would instead have...
0 Copper
0 Copper
2 Silver
4 Festival
I would've grabbed something at 6 cost, but it can't be a 6-cost since that's also at -1 cost, so now I would need to grab a card that has "7" printed in the cost?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Judd
United States
Lake Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It also means that you can play 8 of those cards (or use Throne Room/King's Court on Bridge multiple times) and then play a Forge to trash a Copper and turn it into any other card costing 0, such as Province.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.