$10.00
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
With Doomed World, you can settle a non-military, non alien technology world simply by discarding Doomed World. Contact Specialist allows you to place a military world as if it were non-military (at a discount, but that's not relevant to the question). Does this mean that if I'm playing Doomed World and Contact Specialist is in my tableau, I can discard Doomed world to play a military world (as long as it isn't an Alien Technology world)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sounds right.
2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. This situation came up today. We ruled that the player could do it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddy Richards
Scotland
Allanton
Duns
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's certainly the way the computer version does it - similarly, having Replicant Robots (-2 Settle cost for non-military worlds) would give a total discount of 3 in conjunction with Contact Specialist on a military world.
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The base game rule book has an example of using colony ship + contact specialist to settle Rebel Homeworld. Definitly legal.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.