Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The "First" goal Innovation Leader is described as "First to have at least one power in each phase, plus Trade, among his tableau cards". For the Settle phase, if the only "power" in the tableau is negative military (e.g. Empath World), does it still qualify for reaching the goal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Whangdoodle wrote:
The "First" goal Innovation Leader is described as "First to have at least one power in each phase, plus Trade, among his tableau cards". For the Settle phase, if the only "power" in the tableau is negative military (e.g. Empath World), does it still qualify for reaching the goal?
Yes. So long as that spot is non-blank, then it counts *.



* if you get into or are already playing BoW (exp #3) and if TO are OFF, then these will NOT count towards Innovation Leader... idea if you play without TO, anything related to TO don't exist (as if they were erased wow ). Unlike exp #2 cards where the III also has a non-TO power, these are just a TO power for III
http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Race_for_the_Galaxy_FAQ

6 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Whangdoodle wrote:
The "First" goal Innovation Leader is described as "First to have at least one power in each phase, plus Trade, among his tableau cards". For the Settle phase, if the only "power" in the tableau is negative military (e.g. Empath World), does it still qualify for reaching the goal?

Yes. Negative military is a Settle power (and is listed as such in the rules' power chart) which must always be applied, so it definitely counts for this goal.

[In the BoW expansion, there is a similar "no trade allowed" power that counts as a trade power for this goal too (and for Trade League's VPs).]

[And, as Ackmondual correctly points out above, if playing with TOs off, then TO powers are ignored completely and do *not* count for this goal.]
8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies. You've affirmed my gut feeling on the matter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.