Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Brown
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mb
I want to review The Brink of War (BoW) and what it offers to competitive players of Two-Player Advanced (2PA) with goals.

The inspiration for this review comes from two places. Firstly, a data set was released recently published giving statistics from games including The Brink of War for Keldon’s Race For The Galaxy (RFTG) server. The data set reopened some formerly inconclusive debates within the community. I want to add an opinion I’ve held for a while but not been able to articulate.

Secondly, a well-written blog post from doubtofbuddha showed me that there were a large number of people in the community tired of the superficial reviews written without much experience of a game and its mechanisms. I have a lot of experience with RFTG. The data set released recently listed my accounts with a combined 760 plays, with my main account ‘UlyZed’ ranking fourth overall for 2PA. I’m hoping my experience might offer the sort of deep and mature review that challenges thinking about a game that deserves at least a second look and maybe even a third if you aren’t already playing it .

My perspective on 2PA before The Brink of War

With the second expansion, Rebel vs Imperium (RvI), the consensus seemed to be that none of the general paths to victory was dominant. RFTG as a standalone game, or with the first expansion only, skewed slightly to produce/consume strategies. With RvI, military and development strategies were considered roughly equivalent at the worst. The strength of dev-spam was highlighted by many (including myself) as an issue, but in the main most commentary I read felt 2PA RvI was a richly skill-testing environment.