Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan F
United States
Kent
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HI I am very new to this game (3 total games played). tonight I was playing the regular 2 player game with my wife when I noticed that she was but 1 card away from having some sort of "cluster".

It was in the france version her buildings went:

windmill, bakery, grapevine, winery.

I had the cloister church.

I noticed at the end of the game had she had my cloister church she could've put out an enormous amount of reliquaries (or whatever). Instead she was giving me a work order to use this card, when she could as I was trying to use it often. I on the other hand had to find tedious ways to get 1 bread here or there and work order her for grapes, then wine.

So my question is are there other "card clusters" like this one? Are there more with the full set of cards, if we were to play the long 2 player version?

Thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
zilch zilch
msg tools
mbmbmb
In my limited experience with two-player France games, allowing the vertical integration of either wine production or bread production or stone making by your opponent is a disadvantage. And giving up all four bread/wine buildings seems fatal for a goods production strategy (which makes it ironic that you called it a "cluster").

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan F
United States
Kent
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thezilch wrote:
In my limited experience with two-player France games, allowing the vertical integration of either wine production or bread production or stone making by your opponent is a disadvantage. And giving up all four bread/wine buildings seems fatal for a goods production strategy (which makes it ironic that you called it a "cluster").

No way do I want to give up the last card!!! I want to notice this as a strategy and exploit it! also to know if there are others to look for.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Webber
United States