$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use of Newly Received Skills rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carter
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When you level up, are you able to immediately use a new skill received?

My understanding is that level-up is during the end-of-turn, at which time your interaction for the turn is over, precluding use of any skills or cards. (If true, this would also seem to imply that you would not be able to heal after combat, since that is after your interaction, however in PvP it clearly states that you can heal after combat).

Clarification is appreciated. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
pzkrakz wrote:
When you level up, are you able to immediately use a new skill received?

My understanding is that level-up is during the end-of-turn, at which time your interaction for the turn is over, precluding use of any skills or cards. (If true, this would also seem to imply that you would not be able to heal after combat, since that is after your interaction, however in PvP it clearly states that you can heal after combat).

Clarification is appreciated. Thanks.


You gain skills in your end of turn step. By that point in the game, the next player should have already started their turn, so you cannot use any skills. Anything beyond rerolling the mana dice and putting it back into the source is after your turn.

This is not the same as healing after combat, which is allowed. Combat is not interaction, interacting is with villages and stuff.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carter
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks --- does that imply that you can engage in a combat, and then continue with movement, and then finally an interaction? (i.e. you could provoke and destroy orcs, continue movement into a mage tower, defeat it, and then recruit).

DIREGARD - it's clear in the rules that you move (optionally), then perform one action (combat or interaction), then turn ends. Thankfully that's how we've been playing it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon D
United Kingdom
Deptford
LONDON
flag msg tools
Oi!
badge
That tickles!
mbmbmbmbmb
No it doesn't.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.