1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Carcassonne was my first game, looking to buy another one rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
goobs mcdickins
msg tools
Hi,

I just started playing board games with my cousins and have grown fond of carcassone. We were looking to invest in another game. I have got my eyes on puerto rico, 7 wonders, dominion, settlers of catan and pandemic. I would be playing these games with a 15 year old, a 14 year old and an 18 year old. If you recommend 7 wonders, what makes it better than dominion?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Celina
United States
University City
MO
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After Carcassonne, I got Settlers.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I wouldn't recommend Puerto Rico just yet. It is much more deep and complex than carcassonne, so it may not be right for your group.
I recommend 7 wonders more than dominion. It is fast to play, involves much less shuffling, and is more of a game than a mechanic, plays well with multiple people, and is more straightforward IMO.
I agree with the above poster in recommending Settlers of Catan. It is a straightforward game, and its expansions add a lot of content. Similar type of competitiveness within.
Pandemmic is a co-operative game (though you have probably realized this). Thus, it really depends on your cousins and whether they like co-operative games, so it is difficult to give a recommendation.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ticket to Ride and Catan are both good next steps.

I will add Dominion is also a good game to get early. The basic mechanics are dead simple and I've seen people who don't game pick it up within a few minutes. Dominion has one of the cleanest, most refined card game designs.