Alex Grant
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
More Yellow
badge
Great Wall of China
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm fairly new to wargames; I've been enjoying playing games like Julius Caesar, Space Empires: 4X, Commands & Colors: Ancients, Sekigahara: The Unification of Japan and Infidel. Coming from the Eurogame world, I definitely have a preference for games with mounted maps and other high-quality components.

When I heard about the 20 Decisive Battles series I was interested. 20 low-complexity games based on famous battles with mounted boards all in a nice compact package. And after reading the rules for Battle of Tours I saw it was based on a version of the same Men of Iron system used by Infidel. So I signed up for the Honeymoon Option for their first four games.

Since this game is fairly similar to Infidel I thought I would compare the two. I'm assuming you're already familiar with Infidel.

Components

Battle of Tours comes in a nice small box. It's about about the same dimensions as a standard GMT box, except only 40% of the depth (2cm vs 5cm). But it's not a cardboard box. It's a thick plastic counter tray with clear plastic lid. The counter tray has extra room on the top for the board and rules.

The counter tray, complete with components. Sorry about the grainy images.

Both games have 1/2" counters, but I definitely prefer the Infidel counters. The Battle of Tours counters are much darker, and a little harder to read. Not bad enough to be a problem, but after seeing this I realised how good the Infidel counters are. They pack a lot of clear information in a small space.

Battle of Tours comes with a small d10. I assume this is because of the limited space in the box (there isn't enough depth available for a full-sized die). But you can easily get another die to use instead.