Subject: Hannibal: Rome vs Carthage V Commands and Colors: Ancients rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: ancients [+] cdg [+] c&c_system [+] comparison [+] [View All]
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
My son and I on a great day out at Bovington Tank Museum. Happy memories...
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been gaming for some years now and I am increasingly feeling drawn towards buying my first wargame.

I have been looking at a few and because of theme, period and mechanics I have narrowed it down to these two games at the lighter end of the complexity spectrum.

I would, therefore, very much welcome any insights that you might have on each of them and of their respective comparable strengths and weaknesses.

Please remember that I am an absolute newbie to this genre of gaming...

Thank you...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Bennett
United States
Rougemont
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Play. Always.
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know much about wargames, but I do own both of these titles. They're both great games, but for your first I think I'd personally start with C&C:A. Especially if you also have the problem of having to rope in an unsuspecting victim to play with.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I ask what it is about CC that makes you favour it?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bartow Riggs
United States
Antelope
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
C&C is much more tactical than Hannibal and plays fast. I love both games but for a first wargame I'd go with C&C. If you are primarily a eurogamer you are going to have to get used to the dice but there is still plenty of analysis in C&C.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Herbie Hancock: Takin' Off // Art Farmer & Bill Evans: Modern Art // Sonny Rollins: Way Out West
badge
mbmbmbmbmb