Hide
8 Posts

Power Grid» Forums » Rules

Subject: Endgame Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy M
msg tools
Hi all, I just started playing PowerGrid and have been looking for an answer to my question regarding the endgame on the forums but have not found it yet. Hopefully you can help.

My friends and I have been playing with 3 players, so the endgame is triggered by the 17th city built by any player. The first time I played, I had overinvested in power plants so I had capacity to power 19 cities. If I had been at 16 cities and was able to build 3 cities on one turn and had the resources to power all 19, would I beat the other players if they had only powered 17? Or is 17 the maximum number of cities you can build?

The strategic implication would be that obviously I would not want to invest in being able to power any more than 17 cities and would not want to build more than 17 if that is the ultimate cap and would rather hang on to the cash in case of a tie for most powered cities at the end.

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Quinn Munnerlyn
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can build over the endgame trigger number of cities there is not a limit on your city building, and yes it's whoever can power the most cities at game end that is the winner.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
California
flag msg tools
Really, there should be weekdays, weekends, and cuddle days.
badge
You're not fooling me, because I can see the way you shake and shiver.
mbmbmbmbmb
Regardless of the end game condition, whoever powers the most cities on the last turn wins (with cash as a tiebreaker).

So had you connected to all 19 cities and powered them all on the last turn, you'd've legally defeated your opponents at 17.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Glasson
United States
Hillsborough
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb