$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

JAB: Realtime Boxing» Forums » Rules

Subject: qualification for a combo rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vince Lupo
United States
ALEXANDRIA
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That section of the rules seems to contradict itself 2 or 3 times. Is there a typo?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Saxberg
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe quote the part you feel is contradictory?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
mbmbmbmbmb
To score a combo, the punch types on the top combo cards must be represented on your opponent's target piles. Opponent cards that might have been used to block also count for this requirement.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vince Lupo
United States
ALEXANDRIA
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
out4blood wrote:
To score a combo, the punch types on the top combo cards must be represented on your opponent's target piles. Opponent cards that might have been used to block also count for this requirement.



Is the combo blockable?


Quote:
The order in which the punches appear on the Combo card does not have to match the order in which they appear on your opponent’s targets.

Cards used by your opponent to block your punches can be used in the Combo.

If you notice that a Combo opportunity exists, and didn’t intend on building one (you built it by accident), the Combo is still valid.

The moment you visually identify a Combo opportunity, the Combo is complete, and cannot be blocked. For example, if your opponent blocks one of the Punch cards required for the current Combo, after you’ve recognized the Combo opportunity, but before you take the Combo card, the Combo is not “blocked”.



Here's my issue:

a) cards your opponent put down to block your cards CAN be used the combo

b) somehow yet, the last bolded section appears to indicate that the opponent can somehow block your combo before you announce it as a combo. How can you block a punch in the ... (in such a way as to ruin the combo)


Ok. I just remembered that blocking can be via color OR type. So, if you blocked via color then you might change the type of punch on top and ruin the combo.


But this brings up another question:

Do I have to verbally announce the combo before he releases his hand if he's blocking one of the cards in the combo?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
mbmbmbmbmb
Neo42 wrote:
out4blood wrote:
To score a combo, the punch types on the top combo cards must be represented on your opponent's target piles. Opponent cards that might have been used to block also count for this requirement.

Is the combo blockable?

Only in the sense that an opponent plays cards that cover it up before you've claimed the combo card. Note: they cannot block one of their own blocks.

Quote:
Do I have to verbally announce the combo before he releases his hand if he's blocking one of the cards in the combo?

The rules are a little fuzzy on what that means. We play that you have to declare the combo when you've achieved it and that if it gets covered up before you declare it, then tough luck. Of course, we also play that any simultaneous declarations are resolved Jungle Speed fashion based on who grabs the card first. YMMV.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bohm
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
We play the "speed" rules all the same. For a combo, the player has to grab the combo before the order changes. If the order changes before the combo is grabbed, no combo. (there are instances where the game has to pause while the players discuss which happened first and, in the instance of more serious matches, a "referee" player watches from the sideline to make the call).

Same with a counter punch in that you have to cover up a side and grab the counter punch card before either of the two side's color changes. Also, the life immediately needs to be flipped before doing anything else, otherwise you don't get it.

A clinch needs to be grabbed before it is flipped for a knockout. (this is my favorite one since many times both people grab for it at the same time).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
mbmbmbmbmb
Never Knows Best wrote:
We play the "speed" rules all the same. For a combo, the player has to grab the combo before the order changes. If the order changes before the combo is grabbed, no combo. (there are instances where the game has to pause while the players discuss which happened first and, in the instance of more serious matches, a "referee" player watches from the sideline to make the call).

Same with a counter punch in that you have to cover up a side and grab the counter punch card before either of the two side's color changes. Also, the life immediately needs to be flipped before doing anything else, otherwise you don't get it.

A clinch needs to be grabbed before it is flipped for a knockout. (this is my favorite one since many times both people grab for it at the same time).

You can grab the clinch as soon as you get to zero health. Whereas the knockout does not come until you get damaged again while with zero health, so simultaneous grabs for that ought to be more rare. Counters are where it's at for us.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bohm
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
That's true but if you can survive the round clinching is a bad idea.

For one, it's minus 3 points. Also, if you make it through the round but have zero health, you take 1 health from your opponent anyway.

So we get in a lot of situations where the person at zero battles his best but he also watches the offense to try to grab the clinch first (sort of like the game spoons).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.