$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Saint Petersburg: New Society & Banquet Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to interpret "Pick Pocket" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Per Landberger
Sweden
Spånga
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
From the expansion rules:
"Pickpocket (trading card deck): when a player plays this card at
the beginning of a round, i.e. after the new cards have just been
placed, he becomes starting player in this round."

From the base rules:
"Each round consists of 4 phases (always in the following order):
• the worker phase
• the building phase
• the aristocrat phase
• the trading card phase
Then, the players start the next round with the worker phase."

Observe the use of the word "round" vs "phase".

I have always played the pick pocket card to become starting player in ONE phase, and then the card is ok, and makes sense, but the wording is "round" which would mean that you play it at the beginning of the worker phase and you get to be starting player in al four phases, which really kills the entire game for the player to the right of you.

The rest of the context of the pick pocket rule hints that the intention is that you get to be starting player in one phase, not the entire round.

Last night I played with a person that claimed it's for the entire round, that's why I ask now :-)

So how is this card ment to work?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doobermite
United States
East Fallowfield
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You become the starting player in one phase only. That's the fun of the card. You get to spring it on a player at the start of a phase. Being able to play first for an entire round would be confusing and boring.

Also see: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/354204/pickpocket.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
This answer is correct. The discrepancy is due to different translations of the German.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.