$10.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Cartagena» Forums » Rules

Subject: What to do when you have no cards and can't move back rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Wood
United States
Wheaton
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
2 player game, all of my pirates on the sloop except for one. One place on the board left and it contains 2 opponent's pirates and 1 of mine. I have no cards. I cannot move a pirate back from the sloop, since the only pirates on the board are all in the a group of three. What do I do?
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
True Blue Jon
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
Pass your turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
Basically you lose because you can't move. NEVER let yourself entirely run out of cards.

EDIT:
This assumes the opponent makes the inability to move permanent which he certainly should.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Wheaton
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
quozl wrote:
Pass your turn.


The rules state you must move one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
Myoman wrote:
quozl wrote:
Pass your turn.


The rules state you must move one.

Hence the recommendation that you never let yourself run completely out of cards. I favor the supplemental rule that if yo cannot move, you lose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris schott
United States
saint louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
Myoman wrote:
The rules state you must move one.


Wrong. If you can't move, you can't move.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis Olcese
Argentina
Córdoba
Córdoba
flag msg tools
admin
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
Move back all the way to the beginning?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris schott
United States
saint louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
lolcese wrote:
Move back all the way to the beginning?


You can't do this either. Moving backwards, pirates stop at the first space already occupied by one or two pirates. They can not stop on empty spaces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Wheaton
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
spacerx wrote:
Myoman wrote:
The rules state you must move one.


Wrong. If you can't move, you can't move.



Please quote where I am wrong from the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris schott
United States
saint louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
The printed rules that I read most recently do not address this situation, but online play makes it clear that skipping movement is an action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Wheaton
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
great! That may be good enough for me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris schott
United States
saint louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: This scenario came up, how do I solve this
As simple as the game is, the rules should have been written better.

If you are interested I really like playing here:
http://www.youplay.it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Blumentritt
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
The printed rules that I read most recently do not address this situation


Mine neither. They specifically say you must always make at least one move during your turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Play Cartagena 2 instead.

Seriously, it fixes all of the problems with the original.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mat Thomsen
United States
Medway
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wkover wrote:
Play Cartagena 2 instead.

Seriously, it fixes all of the problems with the original.


Somehow, I still don't know the answer. Is the answer, don't run out of cards? The rules say you must move, they don't say you must not run out of cards. How is this addressed in the reprint?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Madcapmartini wrote:
wkover wrote:
Play Cartagena 2 instead.

Seriously, it fixes all of the problems with the original.


Somehow, I still don't know the answer. Is the answer, don't run out of cards?


Yes, if you run out of cards you're stuck.

In Cartagena 2, you gain cards by moving other people forwards, rather than moving yourself backwards. So it is impossible to run out of cards in Cartagena 2.

The Cartagena 2 path is also broken into 2 parts (via a boat), so players can't fly all the way to the endpoint with a single card. There's also a hand limit in C2.

All of these things improve the game, in my opinion.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ioannis Kalafatis
Switzerland
Zürich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Madcapmartini wrote:
wkover wrote:
Play Cartagena 2 instead.

Seriously, it fixes all of the problems with the original.


Somehow, I still don't know the answer. Is the answer, don't run out of cards? The rules say you must move, they don't say you must not run out of cards. How is this addressed in the reprint?


A late reply, hope it is still useful. The latest Ravensburger edition (German), states:

- Pirates on the boat can move back like other pirates.

- If you cannot move back legally at all (even from the boat), then you can take one card without having to move back, and your turns ends immediately.
4 
 Thumb up
1.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.